Slyck.com
 
Slyck Chatbox - And More

ACRL Presents – “Understanding Fair Use Through Case Law”

What's happening in the technology world! Please submit stories for this forum here.
Forum rules
PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING: Slyck Forum Rules

ACRL Presents – “Understanding Fair Use Through Case Law”

Postby MrFredPFL » Tue Feb 04, 2020 10:40 pm

Story : https://www.acrl.ala.org/acrlinsider/archives/18973





Join ACRL for a free ACRL Presents webcast as we celebrate Fair Use/Fair Dealing Week! The webcast, “Understanding Fair Use Through Case Law,” will be held on Tuesday, February 25, 2020, from 1:00 — 2:00 p.m. Central time (11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. Pacific | 12:00 – 1:00 p.m. Mountain | 1:00 – 2:00 p.m. Central | 2:00 – 3:00 p.m. Eastern. Convert additional time zones online.)

Academic and research libraries often cite fair use for the activities that we engage in to make content available to stakeholders. Depending on your perspective, fair use is a right or a defense outlined in United States Copyright Law. What most can agree on is that in the United States, we rely on case law to help us understand fair use and to implement strategies for sharing content based on that understanding. This webcast will give a back to basics overview of fair use and utilize case law to illustrate each factor of a fair use analysis.

Presenters


Sandra Aya Enimil is the Copyright Services Librarian and Head of Copyright Services at The Ohio State University Libraries. At Ohio State, Sandra provides information and resources on using copyrighted materials and assists creators in protecting their own copyright. Sandra works with individuals and departments within the Libraries and across campus. She has also given numerous presentations on various aspects of copyright for faculty and staff at Ohio State and several other institutions. Sandra is committed to diversity, inclusion, and social justice. She serves as the co-Chair of the IDEAS Committee and co-Leader of the EDI@OSUL initiative at the University Libraries.


Maria Scheid is the Copyright Services Coordinator at The Ohio State University Libraries. She provides information on copyright to faculty, staff, and students of the university active in teaching, research, and scholarship. She works with units in the Libraries and across campus, providing resources and support on issues ranging from using materials to author’s rights.







MrFredPFL
 
Posts: 15833
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 4:48 pm

Return to Tech/Internet/Other News

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

© 2001-2008 Slyck.com