Slyck.com
 
Slyck Chatbox - And More

The 2018 Perseid Meteor Shower Peaks This Weekend! Here's What to Expect

Discuss the latest news about space, the natural World, energy, green issues and more. Please submit stories for this forum here.
Forum rules
PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING: Slyck Forum Rules

The 2018 Perseid Meteor Shower Peaks This Weekend! Here's What to Expect

Postby MrFredPFL » Sat Aug 11, 2018 12:58 am

Story : https://www.space.com/41421-perseid-meteor-shower-2018-skywatching-tips.html





The new moon of August comes on Saturday the 11th this year, perfectly timed to bring dark, moonless nights around the peak of the Perseid meteor shower. Indeed, 2018 is an excellent year to watch for these meteors; such moonless-sky conditions are ideal for observing the Perseids.

Moreover, Earth should pass through the shower's richest part around 9 p.m. Eastern time on Sunday, Aug. 12 (0100 GMT on Aug. 13).

So, late that night into the predawn hours of Monday, Aug. 13, viewers in North America and Europe should have the best seats in the house. Late-summer campers should put their sleeping bags outside the tent to enjoy this "Old Faithful" of meteor showers.

You can also watch the Perseid meteor shower live online here at Space.com on Aug. 12 starting at 5 p.m. EDT (2100 GMT), courtesy of the online observatory Slooh.com.







User avatar
MrFredPFL
 
Posts: 15423
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 4:48 pm

Return to Science News

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

© 2001-2008 Slyck.com