Slyck.com
 
Slyck Chatbox - And More

Watch Russia Launch the Fastest Space Station Cargo Flight on Sunday

Discuss the latest news about space, the natural World, energy, green issues and more. Please submit stories for this forum here.
Forum rules
PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING: Slyck Forum Rules

Watch Russia Launch the Fastest Space Station Cargo Flight on Sunday

Postby MrFredPFL » Sat Feb 10, 2018 4:32 pm

Story : https://www.space.com/39654-russia-fastest-cargo-launch-progress69-webcast.html





A Russian Soyuz rocket will launch a cargo shipment to the International Space Station (ISS) in record time early Sunday morning (Feb. 11), and you can watch the event live online.

Topped with the Russian Progress 69 cargo resupply ship, the Soyuz will lift off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan at 3:58 a.m. EST (0858 GMT). The Progress spacecraft will then dock at the International Space Station at 7:24 a.m. EST (1224 GMT), completing the rendezvous in a record time of 3 hours and 26 minutes.

A live webcast of the launch will begin at 3:30 a.m. EST (0830 GMT), and you can watch it here on Space.com, courtesy of NASA TV. A live webcast of the spacecraft's docking will follow at 6:30 a.m. EST (1130 GMT).

Russia's space agency, Roscosmos, planned to debut this new fast-track route to the ISS with its last cargo launch of the Progress 68 spacecraft, in October. But a last-minute delay forced the agency to resort to the old two-day rendezvous due to the orbital mechanics involved with reaching the ISS. Postponing that launch meant that Roscosmos missed the launch window to try out the new, shorter rendezvous, NASA officials said.







User avatar
MrFredPFL
I am Spartacus
 
Posts: 14967
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 4:48 pm

Return to Science News

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

© 2001-2008 Slyck.com