Slyck.com
 
Slyck Chatbox - And More

vista, mirc ,packetnews or ircspy

Discussion of current popular networks, clients and methods of IRC
Forum rules
PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING: Slyck Forum Rules

vista, mirc ,packetnews or ircspy

Postby milkshake » Thu Jan 18, 2007 6:52 pm

Hello

back in the XP days, I used packetnews.com to search through mIRC. I would click on the pack # link and it would auto load mIRC and connect to the right server and channel...

In Vista, you get errors when you load mIRC, anyone have a work around or know how to fix it?

greetz
milkshake
 

Postby milkshake » Thu Jan 18, 2007 6:58 pm

found a workaround by installing firefox 2.0...

not really a solution but hey it works :P
milkshake
 

Postby milkshake » Thu Jan 18, 2007 7:20 pm

grrr it still doesnt work, now i can connect to server but the download link doest copy to clipboard!!

vista sucks :(

anyone has a solution?
milkshake
 

Postby zbeast » Thu Jan 18, 2007 7:48 pm

I gave it a try. I'm running xp.
it connects to the server connects to the channel.
But does not do anything else.

Should it now try and start a dcc?

I don't know if this is right or wrong as I don't use irc for downloading at all.
zbeast
 
Posts: 6675
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 5:20 pm
Location: Behind that itch. yes, that one right there.

Postby LANjackal » Thu Jan 18, 2007 8:47 pm

milkshake wrote:vista sucks :(


Or maybe mIRC's devs do. Equally possible.
Follow me around the internet!
[Windows 7 Pro x64 (Primary OS)
User avatar
LANjackal
 
Posts: 5895
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 1:58 pm
Location: Various networks. In the physical world I'm an adaptive AI that pretends to be human

Postby milkshake » Fri Jan 19, 2007 4:50 am

zbeast wrote:I gave it a try. I'm running xp.
it connects to the server connects to the channel.
But does not do anything else.

Should it now try and start a dcc?

I don't know if this is right or wrong as I don't use irc for downloading at all.



Hi zbeast!

when you are connected to server and in the channel the only thing you need to do is paste ctrl + V in the channel and press Enter. Now your requesting the download... Remember to set up mirc the right way to recieve the packs (ignore is on in mirc default setting) Take a look here for setting mirc up the right way to recieve files http://www.packetnews.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=201

anyone have a solution for my problem already?
milkshake
 

Postby lordfoul » Fri Jan 19, 2007 5:12 am

LANjackal wrote:Or maybe mIRC's devs do. Equally possible.


Thems fight'n words LJ. Consider the source.
E-Thug - Cause talking shit in person is dangerous.
User avatar
lordfoul
 
Posts: 2587
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2004 11:44 pm

Postby milkshake » Fri Jan 19, 2007 5:38 am

i went to their site but there was no response on a other topic there....

Is there a way to add protocols in vista, i checked in explorer but you can only link to existing ones and not create one yourself.
milkshake
 

Postby milkshake » Fri Jan 19, 2007 7:14 am

OK.... I finally found a solution for Firefox :) not EXPLORER :(

you need to edit prefs.js with notepad somewhere on this location C:\Users\lullo\AppData\Roaming\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\ (directorys could be hidden so unhide them)
Shutdown any firefox window and Add this line below in prefs.js

user_pref("signed.applets.codebase_principal_support", true);


restart the browser and it should work :D

if anyone find a solution for windows vista explorer post it ok :P
milkshake
 

Postby LANjackal » Fri Jan 19, 2007 8:41 am

lordfoul wrote:
LANjackal wrote:Or maybe mIRC's devs do. Equally possible.


Thems fight'n words LJ. Consider the source.


Point taken. Statement withdrawn due to your protest.

That is all :).
Follow me around the internet!
[Windows 7 Pro x64 (Primary OS)
User avatar
LANjackal
 
Posts: 5895
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 1:58 pm
Location: Various networks. In the physical world I'm an adaptive AI that pretends to be human

Postby zbeast » Fri Jan 19, 2007 10:46 am

milkshake wrote:OK.... I finally found a solution for Firefox :) not EXPLORER :(

you need to edit prefs.js with notepad somewhere on this location C:\Users\lullo\AppData\Roaming\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\ (directorys could be hidden so unhide them)
Shutdown any firefox window and Add this line below in prefs.js

user_pref("signed.applets.codebase_principal_support", true);


restart the browser and it should work :D

if anyone find a solution for windows vista explorer post it ok :P



Thanks milkshake: very nice resource.

let me make a corection tho.
you should not be editing prefs.js directly.

You should change brower prefs only via the about:config feture of firefox.

In the space where you would type in a url.
type in about:config and hit return.
You should then get a listing of all the brower configurations.
the text space called. "filter"
type in signed.applets.codebase_principal or as much as you need untill you see that config line.
Thne just double click that line and it changed from false to true.
then just exit your brower to save the file.
zbeast
 
Posts: 6675
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 5:20 pm
Location: Behind that itch. yes, that one right there.

Postby milkshake » Fri Jan 19, 2007 12:02 pm

Hi zbeast

ircspy.com is also a indexer (u prolly already knew)

and thx for the input about firefox, im happy shitz is werking again under Vista!

see ya all later :D
milkshake
 

Postby TwhiT » Wed Jan 24, 2007 11:35 pm

don't know if this helps or what but on Ircspy.com's website in their guide section there is this

http://ircspy.com/guides.asp?mode=display&id=3005

it shows how u can fix firefox w/ mIRC

dunno if it works w/ vista (hope it does tho ^_^ )
TwhiT
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun May 14, 2006 1:48 pm


Return to Internet Relay Chat

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

© 2001-2008 Slyck.com