Slyck.com
 
Slyck Chatbox - And More

Winmx problem

Discussion about the WinMX program/network
Forum rules
PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING: Slyck Forum Rules

Winmx problem

Postby enyatara » Fri Jul 01, 2005 3:47 pm

Can any one help me please?. Have latest winmx 3.54 beta 4. When connects starts and after a little time just shuts down. Have read all info under this site on winmx. Settings as as stated under info. Is not server as have kazaa lite and it works ok. Did not have this problem with previous version. Was getting a good speed 40-50 kbs and then just shuts down. Fist time got error report,which sent. Then it shut computer down,got over that with settings and my computer/properties/advanced. Any help appreaciated.
enyatara
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2005 3:36 pm

Re: Winmx problem

Postby king » Sat Jul 02, 2005 4:57 am

king
 
Posts: 89
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2004 7:17 am

Re: Winmx problem

Postby Assyrian » Sat Jul 02, 2005 6:45 am

king wrote:try with http://www.emule-project.net


keep your smartass comments to yourself if you dont have any help to give. the answer you gave has nothing to do with the question asked.
away.
User avatar
Assyrian
The King
 
Posts: 4822
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2004 4:00 am
Location: Sydney, OZ

Postby Dazzle » Sat Jul 02, 2005 7:50 am

Hi Enyatara, I have had a similar problem and cured it fairly simply, but there are a few causes of this complaint so bear with me .. :)

The first time I had it I made a new folder in program files, and a fresh install of WinMx (using the old folder cured nothing).

The second time that never helped, so I had to do a little more work :?
I manged to restore normal operation after doing a system file check of all the operating system files.

Heres how to do that , go to Start - Programs - Accesories - Command Prompt , then enter this command sfc/scannow , that will ask for your windows disk if any of the files are damaged and require replacement.

If your on secondary there is a flaw in winmx 3.53 that can cause a crash, either updating to 3.54 beta 4
http://dld91.winmx.com/45654935842241/winmx354beta4.zip

Or getting the WinMx patch may help if this is the case, read the instructions on this site.

http://www.kingmacro.net/software/winmx/


One last cause but a bit less common is some sort of spyware trying to dail home, this can crash WinMx as it cant get past the firewall and tries to open too many sockets to do so, obtaining and running something like adaware could spot this sort of thing.

http://www.download.com/3000-2144-10045 ... part=69274


I hope that something in this list helps, let us know if your successful :)

EDIT: just re-read your post to see that your running the beta already :oops: , I,ll leave the links here in case someone else needs them.
Dazzle
 
Posts: 524
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2004 7:50 pm

Winmx problem.

Postby enyatara » Sat Jul 02, 2005 3:46 pm

I thank you Dazzle for reply. Have found my network card is problem. Need update. Went to devise manager/network adapter/properties/update. Update starts but then stops as need NETOEDSL.SYS. I assume is a dll not sure but is not in xp pro set-up disk. Did not find at ms either. I have PPP over DSL.
enyatara
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2005 3:36 pm


Return to WinMX

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

© 2001-2008 Slyck.com