Slyck.com

Slyck Chatbox - And More

Usenet for absolute beginners

Discussion about the binary newsgroups and how to successfully participate in the file-exchange
Forum rules
PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING: Slyck Forum Rules

Usenet for absolute beginners

Postby loninappleton » Thu Aug 23, 2012 1:10 pm

After having just recently read the Slyck news story about what to do after Demonoid I may have to bite the bullet on Usenet. A previous thread says it's now easy and that file assembly on completion is automated and so forth.

But the news story from Aug 8th gave the insight on why Demonoid was considered the best ever: The Scene had a chance to develop over years. And it is more than just the upload of Top 40 tunes or CAMS etc. There were several of us who, unknown to each other, were archiving rare films collected from possibly video stores, as well as libraries etc to produce a Memory Alpha (from Star Trek): a library of the knowledge and media held in many places so it could not be destroyed by one site going down. I had one torrent that went to some 40k iterations.

This brings up my first two questions:

First, as a user of Usenet in the early and middle 90's I know that newsgroups were free. I never dealt with any sort of binary file sharing. But what changed at or in Usenet? How did pay-as-you go come to be in what was the predecessor of the world wide web as a free to use source? Also related: Has the same sort of continuous saturated advertising become a part of sites such as NZB where the content is listed?

Second is retention. I have had torrents going for years-- those pieces described above which are available nowhere else.
How does retention, even if quite long, eventually expire? Does the content have to reestablished continually?

That should get the discussion going.
loninappleton

Re: Usenet for absolute beginners

Postby MrFredPFL » Thu Aug 23, 2012 2:30 pm