Slyck.com

Slyck Chatbox - And More

Astraweb 411

Discussion about the binary newsgroups and how to successfully participate in the file-exchange
Forum rules
PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING: Slyck Forum Rules

Astraweb 411

Postby Sfl0w » Fri Jan 07, 2011 1:54 pm

Pulling my head out of the digital sand and looking around at providers again, I have heard some good and bad about astraweb - Looking to know all before I switch, how does astraweb measure up? Spill it people...
I need more CowBell!!
Do it..you know you want to!
Sfl0w

Re: Astraweb 411

Postby HouseCrowd » Sat Jan 08, 2011 7:34 am

I've been using Astraweb's 'Unlimited DSL Plan' for almost 2 years now without any problems.

If you're looking for the cheapest NSP I suspect some others are cheaper than Astraweb but, in my experience, they're one of the best for service and reliability.

I have previously used Newshosting and Giganews - both of which also provided an excellent, reliable service - but I switched to Astraweb, mainly because they were much cheaper (at the time).
There are 10 types of people in the World; those who understand binary, and those who do not.
HouseCrowd

Postby velocity37 » Sun Jan 09, 2011 1:28 pm

I've been on their $96/yr plan for about a year and a half now. Everything has been rock solid. What I love about Astraweb is that their retention also includes headers.

A year ago I used to run into spotty completion on rare occasions, but that hasn't happened for quite a while now. I was on Giganews diamond for two years before switching to Astraweb. I haven't regretted the switch.
velocity37

Postby NewsgroupReviews » Sun Jan 09, 2011 11:15 pm

We test the services for NGR on a regular basis and find that on rare occasions Astraweb speed lags on older posts. With that said though we would definitely recommend the service. Especially with their $11/mo. or $96/yr special. Alternatives in that price range include UseNetServer, Supernews and NewsDemon.
NewsgroupReviews