Slyck.com

Slyck Chatbox - And More

Newbie looking for help

Discussion about the binary newsgroups and how to successfully participate in the file-exchange
Forum rules
PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING: Slyck Forum Rules

Newbie looking for help

Postby Simon0601 » Fri Feb 12, 2010 6:22 pm

Hi everyone.
I'm new at Newsgroups and need a little help. I need your suggestions for a newsgroup provider that offers SSL and a long retention. I'm UK based by the way. Also should i get a package that offers VPN as well?. And why should i use VPN?. And what should i be paying?

Theres so many to providers and options choose from. It's very confusing.

I await your suggestions.

Thanks in advance

Simon
Simon0601

Re: Newbie looking for help

Postby Fartingbob » Fri Feb 12, 2010 6:51 pm

I use astraweb. Very long retention (pretty much industry leading, give or take a few days with giganews), half the price (or less than) of giganews, very fast (i have a 50Mbit downstream and with 10-20 connections i max it out), SSL is free. It also offers block accounts (non-expiring, handy for trying out the service without signing up to a monthly contract).
Really in my opinion as a long time usenet user its the best service for the best price.
Fartingbob
P2P Trafficker

Postby Simon0601 » Sat Feb 13, 2010 2:29 am

Thanks FartingBob
Astraweb is a definate contender. What should i do about VPN? Do i need it? I want to do everything i can to avoid "The letter of Doom" Is it possible for anyone to see who is downloading what from the newsgroups?
Simon0601

Postby Fartingbob » Sat Feb 13, 2010 7:25 am