Slyck.com

Slyck Chatbox - And More

Newbie question: filenames in binary groups

Discussion about the binary newsgroups and how to successfully participate in the file-exchange
Forum rules
PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING: Slyck Forum Rules

Newbie question: filenames in binary groups

Postby retroshaun » Sun Jul 05, 2009 1:00 pm

I asked this in some binaries usenet groups and recieved a typically sarcastic response so hopefully this forum is more user friendly!

I have been using binary groups on and off for a few years now and recently I noticed the header descriptions becomming more cryptic. Let me explain that a litle more!

So for example in a movies group, it used to be the cae that *most* posts contained the title of the movie as well as filename etc. Now I am seeing more and more posts simply containing the filename itself which is pretty much always in the 8.3 format, or its some sort of cryptic name such as "ewdp-tmanwwbbking.xvid.cd1.rar" (taken from a quick browse of some current headers). Of course alot of the time you can guess at what the movie is from the name, but more likely you have no idea what it is. Sometimes the .nfo helps out, sometimes it doesnt even exist.

So I know this is probably a VERY basic question but I am confused - is there a way to see a better descrption of all the posts and their actual contents? Do NZB fiels do that? (I have no realy understanding of how these index files work). Or is it a matter of searching for the file name in google or a usenet search fo some sort? For huge lists of files, this can be very time consming! If it helps, I use newsLeecher as my usenet client.

OK - thats it - please could someone give me some guidance? And apologies for a probably rather stupid question, but I genuinely would like to know!

Thanks.
retroshaun

Re: Newbie question: filenames in binary groups

Postby napho » Sun Jul 05, 2009 1:11 pm

What about using indexing sites?

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=44446
napho