Slyck.com
 
Slyck Chatbox - And More

Newshosting down

Discussion about the binary newsgroups and how to successfully participate in the file-exchange
Forum rules
PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING: Slyck Forum Rules

Newshosting down

Postby chell » Sun Sep 24, 2006 4:01 am

Hi!

Newshosting seems to be down - can anyone confirm?

Cheers,

chell
chell
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2006 10:14 am

Postby SlyckScratch » Sun Sep 24, 2006 4:06 am

I'm in the UK and i'm using Newshosting right now
I know what you're thinking, punk. You're thinking, 'Did he use six superfluous adjectives or only five?' To tell the truth I forgot myself in all this excitement - but as I deal in English, the most powerful language in the world with subtle nuances that may blow your head clean off, you've got to ask yourself one question: 'Do I feel loquacious?' Well do you punk?
User avatar
SlyckScratch
 
Posts: 8412
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2005 7:31 am
Location: D>E>X

Postby chell » Sun Sep 24, 2006 4:31 am

SlyckScratch wrote:I'm in the UK and i'm using Newshosting right now


I've tried it on a different machine using a different program for downloading. It still doesn't work.

I can't access Newshosting's website either. Neither can I ping it.

The Problem must be on their side...
chell
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2006 10:14 am

Postby fernandose » Sun Sep 24, 2006 4:34 am

im from the uk and its working fine.

Have you tried using a port. Could be your internet settings/firewall. Are you going through a proxy?

p.s slyckscratch ive pm you
User avatar
fernandose
 
Posts: 416
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 8:02 pm
Location: England - South East!

Postby lordfoul » Sun Sep 24, 2006 4:49 am

Working here in NA just fine.
E-Thug - Cause talking shit in person is dangerous.
User avatar
lordfoul
 
Posts: 2593
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2004 11:44 pm

Postby tater » Sun Sep 24, 2006 4:54 am

working here in usa, except i have notice i am using avg antivirus and i guess a upgrade change has occured and every 15 seconds are so it hangs for a sec then goes back to full speed, i am tring to just live with it, since it doesnt slow me down that m much in the big picture. so like some said maybe something has changed with ur firewall are antivirus?? and is now blocking it??
tater
 
Posts: 649
Joined: Fri Apr 30, 2004 4:46 pm

Postby chell » Sun Sep 24, 2006 5:04 am

It can't be my firewall or router settings because

a) I haven't changed them and it worked fine yesterday
b) One of the computers I tried it from is not protected by a firewall.

I'm not using a proxy either.

I guess it must have something to do with the routing from my ISP to Newshosting...
chell
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2006 10:14 am

Postby HouseCrowd » Sun Sep 24, 2006 6:34 am

Seems to be working here.

One thing I've noticed though is that I can't ping (timeouts) newhosting.com, yet I can view their website.

I can however ping the subdomain unlimited.newshosting.com and 63.218.45.254 which is the IP that unlimited.newshosting.com resolves to.

What are you using as the server address in your newsreader?
There are 10 types of people in the World; those who understand binary, and those who do not.
User avatar
HouseCrowd
 
Posts: 33862
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 4:18 am
Location: UK

Postby jimilarue » Sun Sep 24, 2006 5:02 pm

chell wrote:It can't be my firewall or router settings because

a) I haven't changed them and it worked fine yesterday
b) One of the computers I tried it from is not protected by a firewall.

I'm not using a proxy either.

I guess it must have something to do with the routing from my ISP to Newshosting...


I've been having problems all weekend. Just keep pausing and un pausing your download until it starts back up.
jimilarue
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 7:39 pm

Postby LD50% » Sun Sep 24, 2006 6:07 pm

<edit>
Last edited by LD50% on Tue Sep 26, 2006 7:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
LD50%
 
Posts: 1046
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2006 7:11 pm

Postby NewbombTurk » Sun Sep 24, 2006 6:23 pm

I've been having trouble connecting this weekend as well. I finally changed my default port from 119 to 3128 (newshosting supports other ports as well, check their faq) and it's working fine now. Don't know why it worked, my ISP doesn't block 119 that I know of.
NewbombTurk
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 6:20 pm

Postby Drizzel » Sun Sep 24, 2006 9:32 pm

Yep.. its down alright. Totally sux! I finally get a damn day off and had planned to catch up on the stuff I missed. Looks like I'm screwed. :evil: :x :x :cry:
User avatar
Drizzel
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 3:36 am

Postby tater » Sun Sep 24, 2006 10:07 pm

its working for me, using it now and the last three hours?? im in usa. and using port 119 works ok for me/
tater
 
Posts: 649
Joined: Fri Apr 30, 2004 4:46 pm

Postby Drizzel » Mon Sep 25, 2006 12:45 am

its workin now.. finally. Dont know what the prob was.. no alerts on the site.
User avatar
Drizzel
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 3:36 am

Postby SlyckScratch » Mon Sep 25, 2006 3:04 am

tater wrote:every 15 seconds are so it hangs for a sec then goes back to full speed

This is a regular occurance for me. It comes and goes
I know what you're thinking, punk. You're thinking, 'Did he use six superfluous adjectives or only five?' To tell the truth I forgot myself in all this excitement - but as I deal in English, the most powerful language in the world with subtle nuances that may blow your head clean off, you've got to ask yourself one question: 'Do I feel loquacious?' Well do you punk?
User avatar
SlyckScratch
 
Posts: 8412
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2005 7:31 am
Location: D>E>X

Postby tater » Mon Sep 25, 2006 4:57 am

for me it seems to have started the sticking about a week ao when avast did a program update not just a virus definitons update, i also had avg free as a back up ( was turned off till i wanted to check something) antivirus program.. i uninstalled avg and also uninstalled avast, installed a free version of avast to see if its any better, it still sticks... so i guess i will be looking for a differtent antivirus protection now, any sujestions one you like that works well with newsgroups? p2p progs?
tater
 
Posts: 649
Joined: Fri Apr 30, 2004 4:46 pm

Postby LD50% » Mon Sep 25, 2006 6:51 am

@tater


Avira AntiVir® is very good and free.
User avatar
LD50%
 
Posts: 1046
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2006 7:11 pm

Postby stoops » Mon Sep 25, 2006 7:18 am

Seemed quite erratic for me yesterday and it is usually fine. Have a 1MB connection so it is usually constantly aroung 110-117 Kbps. It seemed to fluctuate between 65-110 yesterday. Not sure what was up but have never had any problems before. Will check later on and see how it's doing.
"Honey bring me a beer. I've got a war to win!" - Bill Hicks
User avatar
stoops
 
Posts: 257
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 6:30 am

Postby altpdend » Mon Sep 25, 2006 8:02 am

stoops wrote:Seemed quite erratic for me yesterday and it is usually fine. Have a 1MB connection so it is usually constantly aroung 110-117 Kbps. It seemed to fluctuate between 65-110 yesterday. Not sure what was up but have never had any problems before. Will check later on and see how it's doing.


I had the same issue yesterday around 8 pm cst. It only was about at most 30 mins for me.
Last edited by altpdend on Tue Sep 26, 2006 4:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.
altpdend
 
Posts: 276
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 1:35 pm

Postby Sfl0w » Tue Sep 26, 2006 4:29 pm

Im in the usa and my service is working fine, still geting my full 9.1Mb ;)
I need more CowBell!!
Do it..you know you want to!
User avatar
Sfl0w
 
Posts: 126
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 10:32 am

Postby knighshade » Thu Sep 28, 2006 1:01 pm

the only thing I've seen is minor speed fluctuations not a big deal
knighshade
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2006 8:17 pm

Postby carcassfan » Thu Sep 28, 2006 1:08 pm

the only thing I've seen is minor speed fluctuations not a big deal


it was for me. havent experienced any of this crap since I switched to giganews. There seems to be one common denominator with all of the threads where people are having trouble with their usenet service... Newshosting.

Consider yourself lucky if you've been with NH for a while and havent had problems.
"I don't like repeat offenders, I like dead offenders."

-Ted Nugent

God Bless America!
Tekk wrote:most of the things being pirated are obscure mexican bands
User avatar
carcassfan
 
Posts: 3921
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 3:52 pm
Location: in your snatch

Postby Sfl0w » Fri Sep 29, 2006 10:41 am

I have never had any issues with my speed from NH.
Newshosting and Giganews are both good NSPs, but personaly I think NH is the only way to go.
Besides the fact that Giganews sub is so expensive, the other thing that convinced me to leave was the fact that they CAP the amount of data you can download, Newshosting does not. Newshosting's unlimited plan realy is unlimited.
I need more CowBell!!
Do it..you know you want to!
User avatar
Sfl0w
 
Posts: 126
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 10:32 am

Re: Newshosting down

Postby kingchad30 » Thu Sep 10, 2009 4:34 pm

PROBLEM SOLVED

CHANGE DNS TO OPEN DNS

[removed]

follow instructions on how to change ur computer dns

and hey presto Newshosting works again :)

seemed to have an ISP Dns error of somesort

)
kingchad30
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 4:30 pm

Re: Newshosting down

Postby lonniec3 » Wed Jan 06, 2010 8:49 am

I don't know about "Newshosting" being down, but "unlimited.newshosting.com" keeps giving me authentication errors.

I wrote to newshosting.com and they replied that I needed to contact "unlimited.newshosting.com" directly. Can't seem to find a contact point. http://www. gives me a server not found error. :thumbdn:

Lonnie
lonniec3
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 8:20 am

Next

Return to NewsGroups

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

© 2001-2008 Slyck.com