Slyck.com
 
Slyck Chatbox - And More

Limewire PRO ads showin up in Frostwire?

Discussion of the Gnutella network and the Gnutella clients such as Gnucleus, XoloX, Shareaza, LimeWire and BearShare
Forum rules
PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING: Slyck Forum Rules

Limewire PRO ads showin up in Frostwire?

Postby LANjackal » Wed Aug 22, 2007 2:21 pm

I set my Frostwire to automatically notify me of updates. Just now I saw such a notification and clicked on it. This is what came up:

Image

I'm not an alarmist, but it really was a "WTF" moment on this end... any other thoughts?
Follow me around the internet!
[Windows 7 Pro x64 (Primary OS)
User avatar
LANjackal
 
Posts: 5895
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 1:58 pm
Location: Various networks. In the physical world I'm an adaptive AI that pretends to be human

Re: Limewire PRO ads showin up in Frostwire?

Postby MrFredPFL » Wed Aug 22, 2007 2:52 pm

LANjackal wrote:any other thoughts?


yes, i have one. that's VERY lame.
User avatar
MrFredPFL
 
Posts: 15569
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 4:48 pm

Re: Limewire PRO ads showin up in Frostwire?

Postby IceCube » Wed Aug 22, 2007 4:27 pm

Well, that's... strange.
User avatar
IceCube
 
Posts: 17079
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2005 5:31 pm
Location: Igloo Country?

Re: Limewire PRO ads showin up in Frostwire?

Postby LANjackal » Wed Aug 22, 2007 4:30 pm

Anyway I didn't click on the Update link in the pop-up because I do NOT want Limewire PRO. I went to the Frostwire website instead, where I found the updated version of the client itself.

@PFL: Yeah it is lame in the extreme *sigh*
Follow me around the internet!
[Windows 7 Pro x64 (Primary OS)
User avatar
LANjackal
 
Posts: 5895
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 1:58 pm
Location: Various networks. In the physical world I'm an adaptive AI that pretends to be human

Re: Limewire PRO ads showin up in Frostwire?

Postby gregorio » Wed Aug 22, 2007 4:59 pm

Looks like someone forgot to change the key for the update notification. - If someone would replace the version.key file (and both the pub1.key and public.key files) with you own version, you can use the update notification mechanism (as well as simpp) for your own purposes.
LimeWire 4.13 is out. Don't miss it!
User avatar
gregorio
 
Posts: 309
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2003 7:01 am

Re: Limewire PRO ads showin up in Frostwire?

Postby LANjackal » Wed Aug 22, 2007 5:33 pm

gregorio wrote:Looks like someone forgot to change the key for the update notification. - If someone would replace the version.key file (and both the pub1.key and public.key files) with you own version, you can use the update notification mechanism (as well as simpp) for your own purposes.
Ah. Thanks for explanation. It's probably a dev error then.
Follow me around the internet!
[Windows 7 Pro x64 (Primary OS)
User avatar
LANjackal
 
Posts: 5895
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 1:58 pm
Location: Various networks. In the physical world I'm an adaptive AI that pretends to be human

Re: Limewire PRO ads showin up in Frostwire?

Postby Trev0r269 » Wed Aug 22, 2007 5:37 pm

I saw the thread title and thought, "WTF?! maybe a n00b posting..." then it was "Wait z0mg LANJack posted this, and this screener he posted is ridic."

Keep the screenshot for comedic value, even if it is a simple dev error.
Trev0r269
 
Posts: 584
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2004 7:53 pm
Location: Slow - hio


Return to Gnutella

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron
© 2001-2008 Slyck.com