Page 1 of 1

Questions for any edonkey2000 expert

PostPosted: Sat Jan 13, 2007 9:23 am
by Crowster1
Hello everyone,
I was on edonkey2000 and I accidenly shared all my files on my hard disk by selecting a quick check box. I'm a bit worried that other people may have seen these files. Although, I found out that edonkey files cannot be shared until they are 'hashed.' I remember seeing the word 'hashing' appear immedialy after I stopped sharing the files. Is it possible that the files could not have been shared because they were not hashed until after i stopped sharing them. The incident only occurred once, for the first time.

When does hashing actually occur? And when the word 'hashing' appeared does it still mean that hashing did not finish, so nobody could have obtained my files? When does hashing finish?

Thank You
Crowster1

PostPosted: Sat Jan 13, 2007 1:39 pm
by HouseCrowd
How long before you noticed? If we're talking minutes and it was still hashing the files, it's unlikely that anyone would've had chance to see your shared files, nevermind have time to download them. Have you ever tried to get a file which has only 1 source? ... it takes an age!

PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2007 12:16 am
by IneptVagrant
By default, users can't browse your shared files. So unless you told somethign the ed2k-ip link for your files, no one saw them!

Each file is shared, as soon as its finished hashing, them moves to the next time. But again, unless you pointed someone to it, which you obviously didn't -- no one could of seen it.

EDIT: of course I'm thinkinga bout emule, I'm not sure if default on edonkey2000 is viewable by others.