Slyck.com

Slyck Chatbox - And More

security vulnerability and the Newly released 1.4.5 EDonkey

Discussion about the eDonkey program and both the eDonkey2000 network and the Overnet Network.
Forum rules
PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING: Slyck Forum Rules

security vulnerability and the Newly released 1.4.5 EDonkey

Postby sushiguy » Tue Aug 29, 2006 7:26 am

Good Morning,

I am a novice when it comes to P2P, but enjoy and share content. Recently when I opened my EDonk Pro, a message flashed on my screen saying that a new security vulnerability was discovered and I should d/l the latest version.

When I went to the Edonkey web site, it showed that 1.4.5 is the one I should d/l. However, I wanted to read the forum to get more info. (( Sometimes I think that the RIAA gets in cahoots with a P2P and says .. hey post this and get everyone to d/l and install. Then what everyone is d/l ing... ))

ok, I'm a bit of a conspiracy nut... Probably why I own 200 copies of Catcher in the Rye ;)

Back to the point.. When I tried to click on the edonkey forums, nothing works.. which makes me more concerned. Then I come here (great site by the way!) and see that 1.4.6 is available.. But Edonkey only shows 1.4.5 is out there.. I just want to make sure I don't get screwed...

Does anyone know is the security vulnerability was actually there? Is 1.4.5 or 1.4.6 the real upgrade? Does the PRO version install any spyware? Does Emule have spyware of anykind? If I install Emule to try it out, will it mess up the parameters I have set with my Edonkey? Is there a Santa Clause?

Thanks in advance for your time... Pray for the country.. and eat more sushi!

sushiguy
sushiguy

Postby P2P_G » Tue Aug 29, 2006 7:44 am

Its eDonkey2000 1.4.6 :)

If you don't wanna get spyware and such, just do an offline install :)

Well i would like to recomend eMule more, the KAD network is very huge...
Piracy Will Never Die.
P2P_G

Postby Iron » Tue Aug 29, 2006 7:52 pm