Slyck.com

Slyck Chatbox - And More

I am new to ed2k

Discussion about the eDonkey program and both the eDonkey2000 network and the Overnet Network.
Forum rules
PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING: Slyck Forum Rules

I am new to ed2k

Postby nicklinus » Thu Mar 16, 2006 1:34 am

Hi I am new this, I am more of a news group guy my self but I like to try other options. I have been playing around with the edonkey network, I have used both emule and edonkey2000. Because I am new I don't know if this is normal or not so i fugured i would ask. I am only geting speeds of like 30-60 KB/s, is this normal. If this is normal why would anyone wan't to use thins over usenet. From my expirences with edonkey so far it just looks like a worse version of bit torrent that uses different ports. Thanks for any help!
nicklinus

Postby who_me » Thu Mar 16, 2006 1:36 am

main thing with edonkey network is file life.... u van virtually find anything regardless of age.. try that with BT or NG's...

and yes... speed is slow... gues su cant have ur cake and eat it too ;/
ADVERTISING SPACE
FOR SALE.
who_me

Postby nicklinus » Thu Mar 16, 2006 1:46 am

yea ok so you are saying if I am looking for a older file to use this. But doesnt it work just like a torrent where if no one is seeding it then no one gets it. Or why is it that ed2k files live longer than torrents? Thanks
nicklinus

Postby bitz » Thu Mar 16, 2006 1:00 pm

Those are some very good questions. Yes why anyone would use ed2k anymore is a good question, then again people still use kazaa's network and clients.

To me file life is a really poor reason to pick ed2k over well most other p2p. The network and clients are far more outdated than bittorrent, they lack critical newer features and the protocol is just very stale.