Slyck.com
 
Slyck Chatbox - And More

Anyone know about memory leaks?

This is the forum to discuss tech-software related issues.
Forum rules
PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING: Slyck Forum Rules

Anyone know about memory leaks?

Postby piglets222 » Thu Nov 13, 2008 5:10 pm

So I have vista home premium, and Im thinking teh IE has a memory leak, but Im not sure Exactly what it is, the best thing I think is to describe the problem, so Im surfing around on IE, looking at forums, youtube, posting, digg, or playing games whatever, I have maybe 3 IE's open with 3 tabs per, Im running a game or not, and msn messenger, mirc, wmp,

task manager is saying its about 59 pct psyical memory, and 39-57pct cpu usage
to find this out, I had to close IE out abit, and its running like 200k-500k of the physical memory!!! not even my game is that intensive

after awhile it will be using so much memory, I will not be able to open any tabs, any othersoftware, I will not be able to right click, I will not be able to click the tool bar, I will not be able to open taskmanager :/ unless I close IE, once I close it out, it will go back to normal usage :/

its alittle frustrating


I have teh vista updates

there is little found about it, a couple instances on teh m$ forums, some say this happens, cause even when you close tabs or IE instances the memory is not being 'recovered' and some say running it without plugins, I have try'd that :/

help?
piglets222
 
Posts: 1087
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 8:03 pm

Re: Anyone know about memory leaks?

Postby Fartingbob » Thu Nov 13, 2008 5:20 pm

I haven't used IE in years, but i know that in XP it was very difficult to determine how much RAM it was using since it was so embedded into the OS and it would share resources with other processes.
Try FireFox or Opera. IE offers practically nothing over the other browsers and lacks many features available either installed or as extensions.
User avatar
Fartingbob
P2P Trafficker
 
Posts: 13248
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 4:18 pm
Location: Serenity

Re: Anyone know about memory leaks?

Postby Psycho Ced » Thu Nov 13, 2008 5:39 pm

Have you tried resetting IE?
Go to internet options, then the advanced tab, close to the bottom there is a reset button.
Try that!
User avatar
Psycho Ced
Psycho+
 
Posts: 5892
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2003 2:52 pm
Location: Relative to where?

Re: Anyone know about memory leaks?

Postby Paladwyn » Thu Nov 13, 2008 6:37 pm

Which IE are you using? I'm assuming 7 if you have Vista, but then perhaps going up to the 8 beta.

If you ARE using 8 beta...then that could be it..it's a beta.
Don't roll your chair backwards, you might run over my foot.
Paladwyn
 
Posts: 3991
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 4:55 pm
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada

Re: Anyone know about memory leaks?

Postby piglets222 » Thu Nov 13, 2008 6:47 pm

IE 7


and know I havent try'd resetting IE *checks that out* bugger... :/
piglets222
 
Posts: 1087
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 8:03 pm

Re: Anyone know about memory leaks?

Postby piglets222 » Sat Nov 15, 2008 2:12 am

I did teh reset thing... and it hasnt fixed the problem

actually seems to have got worse, cant even open 3 IEs, two max,... :( i hate vista :(
piglets222
 
Posts: 1087
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 8:03 pm

Re: Anyone know about memory leaks?

Postby bmh67wa » Sat Nov 15, 2008 4:10 am

Are you sure that you don't have any malware?
In the 60's, people took acid to make the world weird. Now the world is weird and people take Prozac to make it normal.

zbeast wrote:80's porn is so strange big hair and lazy humping.
User avatar
bmh67wa
 
Posts: 3425
Joined: Sun Jul 28, 2002 10:32 pm
Location: sanctuary.darkservers.net:3456,4568 or 8888

Re: Anyone know about memory leaks?

Postby boneface » Sat Nov 15, 2008 5:47 am

how much memory do you have?
boneface
 
Posts: 122
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2008 6:20 pm

Re: Anyone know about memory leaks?

Postby Paladwyn » Sat Nov 15, 2008 8:27 am

Ya...there is something messed there, could be some kind of buggy malware. Or as I siggested to get the IE8 Beta, or try a different browser.
Don't roll your chair backwards, you might run over my foot.
Paladwyn
 
Posts: 3991
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 4:55 pm
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada

Re: Anyone know about memory leaks?

Postby piglets222 » Wed Dec 10, 2008 1:07 pm

update:

I scanned with avg, and trend micro just to make sure there was no bugs (what bug would stupid enough to infect vista i dunno its already fcked) :P

and I went IE 8 BETA

I usually avoid beta-ware but like I said, this IE thing was driving meh batty and I was about to nuke vista anyways, getting the beta posed some problem, it kept saying before I could install I needed to have two updates, I went to get teh updates, and it would say 'your system doesnt need these update' weeeeet, anyways I got it all downloaded and installed

and I have to say

its all Good, I ran 7 IE windows, 24/7 with three game clients (THREE GAMES) open, multiple IM windows open, and not Once did it go non-responsive, not the IE, not the games, got alittle laggy when I popped in that movie but Meh :P and Not Once did I have to Close out an IE window, so I could do anything else

:)

ty for everyones suggestions
piglets222
 
Posts: 1087
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 8:03 pm


Return to Tech/Software Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

© 2001-2008 Slyck.com