Slyck.com
 
Slyck Chatbox - And More

Corrupt File Message

This is the forum to discuss tech-software related issues.
Forum rules
PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING: Slyck Forum Rules

Corrupt File Message

Postby sunflower04 » Mon Oct 13, 2008 11:44 pm

I keep getting a pop up every once in a while saying that certain files are corrupt. However, i haven't had any problems with my computer concerning running the programs that this message is talking about. for example, I will be using realplayer and I will get a message saying I have a corrupt realplayer file. I have also gotten this using ccleaner. I have used chkdsk but this hasn't fixed the problem.

I also have used regcure and i still get this message.
sunflower04
 
Posts: 142
Joined: Mon May 16, 2005 11:36 pm

Re: Corrupt File Message

Postby Overnet User » Mon Oct 13, 2008 11:52 pm

yes I also get this problem sometimes, any thoughts are appreciated.
Why Join The Fight?
http://www.eff.org/bloggers/join/
News Without Queues: Follow OvernetUser on Twitter http://twitter.com/OvernetUser
User avatar
Overnet User
 
Posts: 2294
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2005 6:27 pm
Location: Ed2k/Bittorrent

Re: Corrupt File Message

Postby sunflower04 » Sun Oct 19, 2008 8:52 pm

bump
sunflower04
 
Posts: 142
Joined: Mon May 16, 2005 11:36 pm

Re: Corrupt File Message

Postby MrFredPFL » Sun Oct 19, 2008 9:14 pm

i think i speak for all support people here when i beg you to provide a more specific error message ;)

rather than attempting to explain why something said something was corrupt, it's a lot easier when you know exactly what those somethings are, and exactly how the complaint was worded. when in doubt, screenshots are good :)

PS: real player? :shock: ;)
MrFredPFL
 
Posts: 15836
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 4:48 pm

Re: Corrupt File Message

Postby zbeast » Sun Oct 19, 2008 9:40 pm

In the case of a real player file. if the file name contains non standard letters..
sometimes real player will not play the file and report the file as corrupt.
Just rename the file to something more normal like.. janeDoesAHose.rv not ???*jane.does.A.Horse.rv
Knowledge is power. Power corrupts. Study hard. Be evil.
zbeast
 
Posts: 6783
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 5:20 pm
Location: Behind that itch. yes, that one right there.

Re: Corrupt File Message

Postby MrFredPFL » Sun Oct 19, 2008 9:50 pm

/me wonders just how much horse porn zbeast has, and if any of it's in real media format :lol:

sunflower - are these always media files?
MrFredPFL
 
Posts: 15836
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 4:48 pm

Re: Corrupt File Message

Postby Paladwyn » Sun Oct 19, 2008 10:33 pm

*shudder* Realplayer...

yeah, if a player is howing files as corrupt..then it may very well be the names
Don't roll your chair backwards, you might run over my foot.
Paladwyn
 
Posts: 3991
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 4:55 pm
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada

Re: Corrupt File Message

Postby Psycho Ced » Sun Oct 19, 2008 11:00 pm

I used to get these pop up messages all the time too... till I put certain person on my block list. :tinfoilhat:

If you get these messages all the time when running a myriad of apps, I wonder if this might be an issue with your OS.
User avatar
Psycho Ced
Psycho+
 
Posts: 5892
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2003 2:52 pm
Location: Relative to where?

Re: Corrupt File Message

Postby zbeast » Mon Oct 20, 2008 12:46 pm

MrFredPFL wrote:/me wonders just how much horse porn zbeast has, and if any of it's in real media format :lol:

sunflower - are these always media files?


I don't have as much zoo porn as you may think.. :)

No, no... i'm assuming that anyone who has video that was encoded using "real" it's old porn.
No one in there right mind encodes video with real video.
It's completely non standard, it's not editable, it's not easily re-encodable.
You can't even play back a real file in your standard video player..
you have to launch real player for playback.

Real player is just a blight on computer systems.
Knowledge is power. Power corrupts. Study hard. Be evil.
zbeast
 
Posts: 6783
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 5:20 pm
Location: Behind that itch. yes, that one right there.

Re: Corrupt File Message

Postby MrFredPFL » Mon Oct 20, 2008 1:42 pm

couldn't agree more, zbeast :toast:
MrFredPFL
 
Posts: 15836
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 4:48 pm

Re: Corrupt File Message

Postby HalOfBorg » Mon Oct 20, 2008 3:27 pm

Paladwyn wrote:*shudder* Realplayer...


RealPLAYER sucks, but I LOVE the codec itself. Couple years ago I started DLing DB, DBZ and DBGT, and a LOT of the episodes (english dubbed) were ONLY available in realplayer files - and they were only about 40 megs! A good xvid 23 minute long show is about 150 megs or so, so I knew these would suck big time. I DLd one just to see how bad.

THEY WERE BEAUTIFUL! Glorious! Watch them full screen on my old 15" monitor, and it was like watching TV. Even paused great.


"Real Alternative" for me. http://free-codecs.com/download/Real_Alternative.htm
Help HalOfBorg fight his cancer: http://www.gofundme.com/21ygdk

We are The Borg.
Lower your weapons. Disarm your explosives.
Your spawn will adapt to service Us.
Resistance is futile.
User avatar
HalOfBorg
 
Posts: 527
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 1:04 pm

Re: Corrupt File Message

Postby sunflower04 » Sun Nov 02, 2008 7:12 pm

I think it might be my operating system. It also has done this with ccleaner. That isn't a media file. It is a program that cleans out your internet history, etc. Is there a fix if it is your operating system. So far it hasn't caused me to have any problems running anything. I do get a lot of registry error messages whenever i run a program like regcure.
sunflower04
 
Posts: 142
Joined: Mon May 16, 2005 11:36 pm

Re: Corrupt File Message

Postby HouseCrowd » Mon Nov 03, 2008 8:00 am

I would say that either:

1) You have a failing HDD

2) Your registry is damaged ... possibly caused by some registry cleaner software (those things tend to do more harm than good, although CCleaner is usually pretty safe and reliable).

3) Something has corrupted the files (possibly due to #1), or caused incompatible versions of one or more system files to become installed (possibly due to #2).

Something worth trying would be to run the 'System File Checker':
Go to Start -> Run -> and enter the command: sfc /scannow
There are 10 types of people in the World; those who understand binary, and those who do not.
User avatar
HouseCrowd
 
Posts: 33862
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 4:18 am
Location: UK

Re: Corrupt File Message

Postby Paladwyn » Mon Nov 03, 2008 10:31 am

Indeed...I would do a surface scan to check the drive over. You get a bad sector, that's your problem.
Don't roll your chair backwards, you might run over my foot.
Paladwyn
 
Posts: 3991
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 4:55 pm
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada


Return to Tech/Software Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron
© 2001-2008 Slyck.com