Slyck.com
 
Slyck Chatbox - And More

Xp install help

This is the forum to discuss tech-software related issues.
Forum rules
PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING: Slyck Forum Rules

Xp install help

Postby darknirvana666 » Fri Mar 21, 2008 1:20 am

I installed a new sata 320gig hard drive
i start windows up
and format the hard drive
it gets all the way and i get this message

Setup was unable to format the partition. The disk may be damaged.

Make sure the drive is switched on and properly connected to your computer. If the disk is a SCSI disk, make sure your SCSI devices are properly terminated. Consult your computer manual or SCSI adapter documentation for more information.

You must select a different partition for Windows XP.
To continue, press ENTER.


fter clicking enter I see that it has created a new partition.
C: Partition 1 [New (Raw) ] 78521MB
Unpartitioned space 8MB

If I try to install on Partition 1 I get an error.

An error occurred while Setup was updating partition information on:

78529 MB Disk 0 at Id 0 on bus 0 on atapi [MBR]


I have no idea what to do

i have only installed xp on IDE hard drives before
darknirvana666
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 4:55 pm

Postby Aaron.Walkhouse » Fri Mar 21, 2008 2:09 am

Does the BIOS on your computer have a feature to write protect the MBR,
sometimes called the boot sector? If so, turn it off and format it again.
User avatar
Aaron.Walkhouse
 
Posts: 294
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 8:02 am
Location: My igloos melt in June

Re: Xp install help

Postby darknirvana666 » Fri Mar 21, 2008 10:01 am

It wont let me in the bios settings when they load up it says

Error in loading operating system...


the only thing i can get is the boot settings like
cd rom or hard drive to boot first
darknirvana666
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 4:55 pm

Re: Xp install help

Postby Paladwyn » Fri Mar 21, 2008 10:31 am

You may need to install the SATA drivers for windows, hitting F6 when windows install is starting...however, by the sounds of it recognizing the drive (albiet at a different value) they should be there.

I'd check BIOS to make sure the drive settings are ok, having them set funny could cause it to read at a different value. It seems to be limiting the drive to 80GB. Depending on your BIOS there may be setting for SATA drives.
Don't roll your chair backwards, you might run over my foot.
Paladwyn
 
Posts: 3991
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 4:55 pm
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada

Re: Xp install help

Postby darknirvana666 » Fri Mar 21, 2008 10:35 am

I cant get in the bios menu that
error loading operating system . . .

pops up and i cant do anything
darknirvana666
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 4:55 pm

Re: Xp install help

Postby caldis » Fri Mar 21, 2008 11:08 am

The BIOS can be accessed prior to this.

Read what it says on your screen. It should be one of:
DEL,F12,F11,ESC

Maybe you need to load a S-ATA driver before you can access the controler. Is it a onboard of extra card s-ata controler? If it is onboard it should be plug-n-play compatible otherwise you might need to load a driver via disk/cd before windows setup can access the controler properly.
caldis
 
Posts: 124
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 8:00 am

Re: Xp install help

Postby MrFredPFL » Fri Mar 21, 2008 11:17 am

darknirvana666 wrote:It wont let me in the bios settings when they load up it says

Error in loading operating system...


the only thing i can get is the boot settings like
cd rom or hard drive to boot first


the boot settings are part of BIOS. if you can see those, you have already gotten into BIOS ;)
MrFredPFL
 
Posts: 15836
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 4:48 pm

Re: Xp install help

Postby darknirvana666 » Fri Mar 21, 2008 11:41 am

the boot settings are part of BIOS. if you can see those, you have already gotten into BIOS ;)


but the boot settings are the only part i can get into
darknirvana666
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 4:55 pm

Re: Xp install help

Postby jokster » Fri Mar 21, 2008 11:47 am

as your pc starts just repeatedly tap the delete/F12/F11/ESC key until the BIOS begins to load up

check your mobo to see if its SATA-II compatible as most SATA HDs are SATA-II now. if your mobo is SATA only, you should be able to set the drive to SATA-I - i think its a jumper setting if not check the manufacturers website for a utility to do it for you. also check and make sure your cable is SATA-II. if that fails you could try to get a copy of xp that has the sevice packs slipstreamed into it as it could be a problem with SATA RAID drivers.
Capitalism Is Cannibalism
Resistance is fertile
User avatar
jokster
 
Posts: 920
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2005 6:54 am
Location: Norn Iron

Re: Xp install help

Postby MrFredPFL » Fri Mar 21, 2008 11:50 am

strange.

what kind of computer is it? and who is the BIOS from (ami award phoenix) ?

that additional info might help someone further diagnose this :?
MrFredPFL
 
Posts: 15836
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 4:48 pm

Re: Xp install help

Postby jokster » Fri Mar 21, 2008 11:52 am

make and model of the HD wouldnt hurt either
Capitalism Is Cannibalism
Resistance is fertile
User avatar
jokster
 
Posts: 920
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2005 6:54 am
Location: Norn Iron

Re: Xp install help

Postby darknirvana666 » Fri Mar 21, 2008 12:15 pm

ok i got the bios to start up after 10x restarting it

the drive is on sata port 3

the booting list is
dvd rom
cd rom lite
wd 320 (HDD)

the drive is a Sata 320 western digital
http://wdc.com/en/products/Products.asp?DriveID=299
darknirvana666
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 4:55 pm

Re: Xp install help

Postby Paladwyn » Fri Mar 21, 2008 1:55 pm

Put that hard drive on SATA port 1, this shouldn't make much of a difference, but if you have other sata drives installed and the bios is trying to load them up as raid, then you could get weird messages.
Don't roll your chair backwards, you might run over my foot.
Paladwyn
 
Posts: 3991
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 4:55 pm
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada

Re: Xp install help

Postby IneptVagrant » Sun Mar 23, 2008 6:53 am

darknirvana666 wrote:I installed a new sata 320gig hard drive
...
fter clicking enter I see that it has created a new partition.
C: Partition 1 [New (Raw) ] 78521MB
Unpartitioned space 8MB

Last time I looked 78521MB + 8MB is not the same as 320gig.

You are trying to install to a different HDD, most likely.

Or you don't have LBA enabled in bios for this device, far less likely. Thou I don't see any reason why it wouldn't be, unless you or the previous owner disabled it on purpose or accidently.
IneptVagrant
 
Posts: 1247
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2005 5:07 am
Location: close the world . . . . . . . . . . . . . . txEn eht nepO

Re: Xp install help

Postby Curmudgeon » Mon Mar 24, 2008 12:50 am

78529 MB Disk 0 at Id 0 on bus 0 on atapi [MBR]


the drive is on sata port 3


Looks like you have an 80g drive on port 1?
Last edited by Curmudgeon on Mon Mar 24, 2008 12:55 am, edited 1 time in total.
Curmudgeon
 
Posts: 496
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2004 11:15 pm

Re: Xp install help

Postby Paladwyn » Mon Mar 24, 2008 12:53 am

Curmudgeon wrote:
78529 MB Disk 0 at Id 0 on bus 0 on atapi [MBR]


the drive is on sata port 3


Ya, there is something wacky going on here, another drive or something is showing up, and since the SATA drive isn't showing up, I would say you need the SATA drivers when windows is booting up. Unplugg all drives except the optical drive and the hard drive, and when it come sup, delete all partitions and start from scratch.
Don't roll your chair backwards, you might run over my foot.
Paladwyn
 
Posts: 3991
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 4:55 pm
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada

Re: Xp install help

Postby Curmudgeon » Mon Mar 24, 2008 12:58 am

yep,I'm not sure which drive he wants to install XP.
Un-plug the 350,install XP on the 80,hit F6 during setup to install SATA drivers,then mount the 350 in winoze
disk mgmt.
Curmudgeon
 
Posts: 496
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2004 11:15 pm

Re: Xp install help

Postby IneptVagrant » Mon Mar 24, 2008 6:34 am

If anyone was wondering why that 8MB is always left open by windows. Its used for "Logical Disk" allocation tables.
IneptVagrant
 
Posts: 1247
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2005 5:07 am
Location: close the world . . . . . . . . . . . . . . txEn eht nepO

Re: Xp install help

Postby Paladwyn » Mon Mar 24, 2008 10:24 am

IneptVagrant wrote:If anyone was wondering why that 8MB is always left open by windows. Its used for "Logical Disk" allocation tables.


Yes, pretty much...for those who don't know what that means, just know that it HAS to be there...dead space that the drive needs to store it's 'index' like thing.
Don't roll your chair backwards, you might run over my foot.
Paladwyn
 
Posts: 3991
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 4:55 pm
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada

Re: Xp install help

Postby Golgo1 » Mon Mar 24, 2008 12:27 pm

while we would like to have resolution to this and the problem solved, I want to go back to the problem loading the BIOS...
the boot selection shows with some MBs without loading the BIOS interface, I think that's what he was seeing.

If he was getting an error that truly came from the BIOS when it tried to load.. then I'd say try a complete CMOS reset.. if it still errors, the board is BORKED

regardles of what drives are plugged in, or what OS you want, or what interface the MB uses, if the BIOS itself can't load, you aint got shit. If it's sporratic like that, then you're just going to have big headaches in the future
Am I the ONLY one who remembers that video KILLED the radio star?
There are two kinds of people in this world: people who can extrapolate from incomplete data
User avatar
Golgo1
 
Posts: 1430
Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 3:50 pm
Location: I drink I've been thinking

Re: Xp install help

Postby Curmudgeon » Mon Mar 24, 2008 5:07 pm

Golgo1 wrote:while we would like to have resolution to this and the problem solved, I want to go back to the problem loading the BIOS...
the boot selection shows with some MBs without loading the BIOS interface, I think that's what he was seeing.

If he was getting an error that truly came from the BIOS when it tried to load.. then I'd say try a complete CMOS reset.. if it still errors, the board is BORKED

regardles of what drives are plugged in, or what OS you want, or what interface the MB uses, if the BIOS itself can't load, you aint got shit. If it's sporratic like that, then you're just going to have big headaches in the future


It appears he managed to get into the BIOS,with out more detail it's hard to determine if it was just a user malfunction.
The error looks like a lack of SATA drivers as XP has no clue what to do with a SATA drive without them. I can't figure out why he zapped his OS just to add more HD space.

:popcorn:
Curmudgeon
 
Posts: 496
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2004 11:15 pm

Re: Xp install help

Postby shwahn » Mon Mar 24, 2008 5:49 pm

I encountered a similar problem on my pc set up, the main disk is a 250gb SATA, and XP just wouldnt recognise the whole drive, it would format it as 80gb then fail on the install with a strange error message.

I had a copy Windows XP Pro (Pre service pack 1), my solution was to aquire a newer version of Windows XP Pro (Service Pack 2 inc)

When i booted up into this version of XP it saw the disk drive as 250gb, formatted correctly and allowed my to install without hickup.
shwahn
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 3:05 pm

Re: Xp install help

Postby Curmudgeon » Mon Mar 24, 2008 6:21 pm

Is it possible that SATA drivers were slipstreamed into your new copy?
I'm almost positive M$ doesn't provide them.
Curmudgeon
 
Posts: 496
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2004 11:15 pm

Re: Xp install help

Postby Paladwyn » Mon Mar 24, 2008 7:00 pm

I once was looking and trying to slip SATA drivers onto a Windows XP install disc, I wasn't quite sucessful, but got pretty close before giving up and just using a different copy.

I did see a version of Windows with SP1 not load on a computer, but worked fine with SP2..for some reason before.
Don't roll your chair backwards, you might run over my foot.
Paladwyn
 
Posts: 3991
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 4:55 pm
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada

Re: Xp install help

Postby Curmudgeon » Fri Mar 28, 2008 4:24 pm

So....after some reading around it appears that on some motherboards you can disable AHCI in the BIOS and XP should install without fits, otherwise you need to install the drivers.
AKA- IDE emulation.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Advanced_H ... _Interface

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Serial_ATA ... _Interface

Slipstreaming info: http://www.nliteos.com/nlite.html
Curmudgeon
 
Posts: 496
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2004 11:15 pm

Next

Return to Tech/Software Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron
© 2001-2008 Slyck.com