Slyck.com
 
Slyck Chatbox - And More

Firefox Plug-in Question

This is the forum to discuss tech-software related issues.
Forum rules
PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING: Slyck Forum Rules

Firefox Plug-in Question

Postby SlyckTom » Wed May 23, 2007 11:45 am

As most Firefox users know, if you highlight and right click a word, you can google, wikipedia or rottentomatoe search just about any word. Of course in order to change the engine you search, you have to select a different search engine from the search bar.

So my question: Is there a plug-in that side steps the switching of the search bar? In other words, can I switch to different engines while right clicking on the word I wish to search?
Follow us on Twitter @SlyckDotCom
Join our Facebook Fan page
SlyckTom
 
Posts: 5713
Joined: Fri Jul 26, 2002 7:22 pm
Location: New York City

Postby Andu » Wed May 23, 2007 11:53 am

I know that the DictionarySearch extension just adds the option to search dictionary.com even without having the search engine in the search bar.

I guess you'll have to look for such extensions. You could probably mess around with some of the config files but I don't know which nor what to change. You could ask on forums.mozillazine.org if you really want to know.
User avatar
Andu
 
Posts: 875
Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2005 1:12 pm

Postby JR007 » Wed May 23, 2007 12:04 pm

Hey Tom!

I know of the DictionarySearch extension only as well.

I am not certain there is an extension available to switch search engines in the manner your asking. Hopefully someone will know though.
User avatar
JR007
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2006 4:04 pm

Postby HouseCrowd » Wed May 23, 2007 1:55 pm

Yes there is. I use this.

Context Search 0.4.1


Expands the context menu's 'Search for' item into a list of installed search engines, allowing you to choose a specific search engine every time.


Image

Is that what you meant Tom?
There are 10 types of people in the World; those who understand binary, and those who do not.
User avatar
HouseCrowd
 
Posts: 33862
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 4:18 am
Location: UK

Postby itsrick » Wed May 23, 2007 2:19 pm

HC that is a great plugin. I never saw that one before.

I use Cooliris which has that function (yet still limited unfortunately).[/url]

I use cooliris daily but Context Search looks more like what you are looking for.
itsrick
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 9:54 pm

Postby Nutty-Slack » Wed May 23, 2007 4:17 pm

Yep, good one H.C.
Must be 'Slyck Brownie' time again. :wink:

Now we no longer have to move that big heavy cursor all the way up to the toolbar in order to use our search plug-ins!
(Actually it's the copying and pasting that's the real pain in the ass.)
User avatar
Nutty-Slack
 
Posts: 2379
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 11:08 pm
Location: Shit Creek (UK)

Postby jplus503 » Wed May 23, 2007 4:46 pm

Thanks HC.
Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large numbers.
User avatar
jplus503
 
Posts: 164
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2006 10:14 am

Postby thejynxed » Wed May 23, 2007 8:56 pm

I use that in combination with ClearForest Gnosis. The results can't be beat too easily.
"FlickR is supposed to be weird, fun, experimental, way out-there -- oh no, wait, now that it's so close to being part of Microsoft, FlickR's supposed to bore people to death and empty their pockets while pretending to innovate." - Bruce Sterling
thejynxed
 
Posts: 1953
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2004 12:22 pm
Location: In a Galaxy Far, Far Away....

Postby bluebird » Thu May 24, 2007 8:54 am

HouseCrowd wrote:Yes there is. I use this.




It wouldn't install ...I have a retro version of Firefox...Oh the shame Image
A common mistake that people make when trying to design something completely foolproof is to underestimate the ingenuity of complete fools.
Douglas Adams

If you obey all the rules you miss all the fun x
User avatar
bluebird
Shopping Fairy
 
Posts: 3867
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 5:28 pm
Location: if you obey all the rules you miss all the fun x

Postby Nutty-Slack » Thu May 24, 2007 11:40 am

I was hanging on to version 1.5 myself up until a few weeks back.

The upgrade to version 2 was completely painless for me, if it's any reassurance.
Just installed it over the old version (as you would any other Firefox upgrade) with no loss of settings, bookmarks or plug-ins etc.
I did take a complete Firefox and system backup before doing so though, just in case. :wink:

It seems to have gotten to the point where more (of the desirable) add-ons work with (and are being written for) v2 than the older variants.

Quibus Societas Nobis Intemporaliter
User avatar
Nutty-Slack
 
Posts: 2379
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 11:08 pm
Location: Shit Creek (UK)


Return to Tech/Software Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron
© 2001-2008 Slyck.com