Slyck.com

Slyck Chatbox - And More

New Ipod User - Question about Lossless and 160 Gig Drive

This is the forum to discuss tech-hardware related issues.
Forum rules
PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING: Slyck Forum Rules

New Ipod User - Question about Lossless and 160 Gig Drive

Postby Digital_Freedom » Mon Dec 14, 2009 7:33 pm

I am fairly new to using an Ipod. In fact the only reason I currently own a 20 gig 2nd generation Ipod is that an online friend on another site and I got into a debate about MP3 CDs vers Ipods. At that time I was arguing that I was perfectly fine with using my CD ROMS for MP3-data discs for playing in my car. So he wanted me to "see the light" his way, and about 3 years back he sent me he used Ipod for FREE! Wow, I thought that was nice of him.

Truth is I never really used that Ipod until a few months ago (2009). I am likely the last computer geek to ever wait so long to take an interest in Ipods. Due to file compression such as Flac, and the ability to compress music files is lossless format and latter burn a CD in what is as perfect as music can be duplicated, I am most impressed by my Ipods ability to rip CDs in lossless format. My goal is to keep my CDs as new and only rip them once and then store the original CDs in large boxes as well as maybe some compressed Flac backups. Right now I have a box of CDs in my car, many of them are direct copies of other CDs I have, some were compressed to Flac first and latter inflated back to an Audio CD for use in playing in my car. I can hear a difference in quality of MP3 and Lossless- Even when I compare 320kbps 48Mgz to the same song inflated from Flac, the discs made from Flac sound better in my car stereo than the best MP3 files I compare too.