Slyck.com
 
Slyck Chatbox - And More

Belkin giabit over power line.

This is the forum to discuss tech-hardware related issues.
Forum rules
PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING: Slyck Forum Rules

Belkin giabit over power line.

Postby zbeast » Fri Nov 06, 2009 7:25 pm

Say has anyone every seen or used one of these?

http://www.belkin.com/pressroom/releases/uploads/06_22_09GigabitPowerline.html

I have never gotten this type of device to work.
So I have a question does this one work.. ya it's only $160 bucks but I would hate to waste the cash on
something I'll just end up throwing away.

I can't use wifi.. because the date rates are two high and p2p hates wifi.
I also can't just pull fiber or cat6 to the spot... because there is a big fireplace in the way.
Knowledge is power. Power corrupts. Study hard. Be evil.
zbeast
 
Posts: 6783
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 5:20 pm
Location: Behind that itch. yes, that one right there.

Re: Belkin giabit over power line.

Postby HouseCrowd » Sat Nov 07, 2009 8:05 am

Wow! .... gotta get me some of those! :)

I've used lots of Ethernet-over-power adaptors, and for the most part I find they work very well.

I've had about 10 or so of the 200Mbps devices so far and countless 85Mbps devices before that. I've installed them for customers who, for one reason or another, can't use WiFi. I use a 200Mbps pair myself to stream video files from my server to my home cinema.

They're not 100% reliable (maybe 90-odd %). Occasionally the connection will drop for no apparent reason, and the only way to get it back is to momentarily unplug the devices. Beats me why they can't automatically reconnect themselves .... Hopefully these new ones will ...
There are 10 types of people in the World; those who understand binary, and those who do not.
User avatar
HouseCrowd
 
Posts: 33862
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 4:18 am
Location: UK


Return to Tech/Hardware Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron
© 2001-2008 Slyck.com