Slyck.com

Slyck Chatbox - And More

Few quick questions about Apples iBook G4....

This is the forum to discuss tech-hardware related issues.
Forum rules
PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING: Slyck Forum Rules

Few quick questions about Apples iBook G4....

Postby SyLeNtTbRoWn » Wed Oct 28, 2009 5:06 pm

Hi guys i have recently picked up an iBook G4 and it turns out that it has a few issue's and being a MAC newbie i wonderd if anyone here could help me with a few questions ii have about it? OK first the Big one!!! it turns out that the disk drive is screwed and there is a disk stuck in it ... so therefore it makes it extreamly inpossible to install a new operation system.... oh and there is also an admin password that needs to be removed as well... so i have been looking @ an USB plug and play multi drive ....will i be able to install a new OS with it if it is not a apple product?? I also have been thinking of trying to install off of a thumb drive .... is that possible??? also is the network cable the same for PC's and MACs??? for my cable doesnt want to fitt quiet right and finding myself useing the airport quiet alot. oh also ive been told that the only way to install new OS from a external drive is if you use firewire is this true???
Thanks,
T :pirate:
Im no Super Guenious.... or are I??
SyLeNtTbRoWn

Re: Few quick questions about Apples iBook G4....

Postby sunnyd » Wed Oct 28, 2009 6:14 pm

A quick search turned up some answers/options for you....

If you can't get the CD to eject normally, reboot and hold down the Option key. You'll see a startup drive select window. When the cursor changes to an arrow, (be patient, it may take a minute or two) then press your eject key, the CD should eject. You can also try holding the left mouse/trackpad button down during a restart which may work also.

As for changing the password...

Here's how to reset your OS X password without an OS X CD. You need to enter terminal and create a new admin account:
1. Reboot