Slyck.com

Slyck Chatbox - And More

Warranties for PC components

This is the forum to discuss tech-hardware related issues.
Forum rules
PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING: Slyck Forum Rules

Warranties for PC components

Postby HEAT84 » Fri Apr 25, 2008 3:15 pm

Is it a good idea? I've never done it before. I've (luckily I guess) naver had anything break (at least during what the warranty period would be).

Is any of this stuff worth warrantying?
[Under Construction]
HEAT84
Official Slyck Conspiracy Nut

Re: Warranties for PC components

Postby Fartingbob » Fri Apr 25, 2008 3:29 pm

Personally i wouldn't on those items. Generally manufactuer warranties for most components will be long enough that when it runs out you'll probably want to upgrade. Hell in a few years if they break you could probably pick up the same component for less than the cost of the original warranty.
On more expensive stuff then it may be worth it if you dont think you'll be upgrading them again within 2 or 3 years.
Fartingbob
P2P Trafficker

Postby edgebilliards » Fri Apr 25, 2008 3:45 pm

it probably isn't the case with newegg, but best buy, circuit city, and the like all make 45-60% of their income off of people buying useless extended warranties. The money is pure profit for them. I'm not sure if that was your question, but that was my 2cent rant.
edgebilliards

Postby shevaberg » Fri Apr 25, 2008 4:33 pm

Extdened Warrenties are a joke..

If it is electronic - it usaly will break within 3 months of plugging the thing in...
The only extended warrenty I bought was for a CD player.. that was 14 years years.. still works...

I had a VCR dropped on ashphlat... still works... barley... but 17 years later
Sarcasm...not to be used on stupid people....
shevaberg

Postby Paladwyn » Fri Apr 25, 2008 4:38 pm

From having a computer store and dealing with warranties... 1 year is long enough for everything EXCEPT hard drives.