Slyck.com
 
Slyck Chatbox - And More

Two questions

Discussions about the FastTrack network and any clients that connect to it
Forum rules
PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING: Slyck Forum Rules

Postby irish2 » Sun Jun 05, 2005 2:04 pm

Back to your original posting robnyt
Using K-Lite 2.4.3. Should I upgrade to a more recent version? If so, which?

Don't upgrade. Very bad move. Continue using this version as it works solidly well. It does exactly what you want and does it very well. Okay you might get a few crap files every so often but the network is still vast.
As for new apps try Limewire for complete ease of use, minimal setting up and simple interface...type in your search, click download, finished! Just like k-lite.
Happy hunting
may the road rise to meet you
irish2
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2005 12:35 pm

Postby robnyt » Sun Jun 05, 2005 3:44 pm

So is KCeasy the one one screwed up by XP2?
robnyt
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2003 10:52 am

Postby Mrs. 2p » Sun Jun 05, 2005 3:51 pm

before going to kceasy, and fiddling wiht various networks, figuring out how to add the fasttrack plugin (which is a network you're trying to migrate from anyways), just donwload areslite and give it a go, as suggested by all the answers you received. We can discuss everything else later... but try something first
Blessed is the fool who dares giving advice, for he shall be wiser thanks to others' mistakes. J. M. Serrat
Don't you just love a good read?
User avatar
Mrs. 2p
 
Posts: 3224
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 10:39 am
Location: The Eternal City

Postby robnyt » Sun Jun 05, 2005 5:49 pm

OK, so I'm dl'ing AresLite and I now have the 2 following popups.

1)

ARES FIREWALL SETTINGS

Ares has detected you have a firewall enables on your computer. If you keep current settings you may experience difficulties while downloading and slow transfer speeds. You should configure your firewall to allow incoming traffic on Ares data port. Would you like Ares to do this for you?


2)

MICROSOFT ANTISPYWARE ALERT

An uknown Startup Program "Ares for Windows" Requires Approval.

What would you like to do? ALLOW or BLOCK
send to SpyNet (is checked)


Which do I use?
robnyt
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2003 10:52 am

Postby irish » Sun Jun 05, 2005 5:54 pm

Allow Ares to configure the port for you. Don't block Ares in Microsoft's antispyware. And there's no need to send info to Spynet so uncheck that box too.
That should be you
User avatar
irish
 
Posts: 1830
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2005 5:03 pm
Location: Na hOileain Chanaracha

Postby robnyt » Sun Jun 05, 2005 6:04 pm

irish wrote:Allow Ares to configure the port for you. Don't block Ares in Microsoft's antispyware. And there's no need to send info to Spynet so uncheck that box too.
That should be you


So if I let Ares do it for me, do I STILL have to hit "Allow" on Microsoft AntiSpyware or will it automatically clear?
robnyt
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2003 10:52 am

Postby tomy » Sun Jun 05, 2005 6:05 pm

Have you tried k-lite 2.7? :roll:
tomy
 
Posts: 158
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2004 2:55 pm

Postby robnyt » Sun Jun 05, 2005 6:12 pm

tomy wrote:Have you tried k-lite 2.7? :roll:


No, that was one of my initial questions:
1) Using K-Lite 2.4.3. Should I upgrade to a more recent version? If so, which?
robnyt
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2003 10:52 am

Postby tomy » Sun Jun 05, 2005 6:20 pm

robnyt wrote:
tomy wrote:Have you tried k-lite 2.7? :roll:


No, that was one of my initial questions:
1) Using K-Lite 2.4.3. Should I upgrade to a more recent version? If so, which?

I dont know if you should upgrade or switch to KCeasy, im a linuxero now :wink: ; but if you upgrade thats the one. The easy way to insatall it is the nsane install. Good luck
tomy
 
Posts: 158
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2004 2:55 pm

Postby LxBeast » Sun Jun 05, 2005 6:22 pm

A to Q:

1) Up to you, but I'd rather change newtworks.

2) Limewire or Ares

3) Get peerguardian 2
LxBeast
 

Postby zim » Sun Jun 05, 2005 8:51 pm

changing kazaas program wont make the network any better or the files less fake..

:)

Its just time to abandon fastrack...

obsolete!
User avatar
zim
 
Posts: 5776
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2005 10:01 am

Postby irish » Mon Jun 06, 2005 2:20 am

Back to Robnyt
So if I let Ares do it for me, do I STILL have to hit "Allow" on Microsoft AntiSpyware or will it automatically clear?

If you don't 'Allow' Ares when MS Antispyware pops up then you will not get Ares to work as it will not be allowed to startup. After you have installed Ares, let Ares sort out your firewall for you, then Allow it whenever MS Antispyware asks.
Hpoe this helps you..Keep the questions a rolling in if you're still daunted.
User avatar
irish
 
Posts: 1830
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2005 5:03 pm
Location: Na hOileain Chanaracha

Previous

Return to FastTrack/Kazaa

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron
© 2001-2008 Slyck.com