Page 3 of 3

PostPosted: Sun Feb 05, 2006 11:26 am
by k0D
im testing at the moment, im from gb and it doesnt block all gb peers ... there are some gb peers showing up on my peers list and doesnt block them, when i see the blocking list i can see it working but for some not for all :| ...

PostPosted: Sun Feb 05, 2006 11:49 am
by ukdnb
It doesn't remove them from the peer list instantly. The IPFilter only seems to kick in when a connection is made. You might see gb peers saying "waiting for handshake" for a long time, but it should never connect.

Also, make sure you set the torrent to blocked before you start it. Any peers added before you set it to blocked will not be added to the IPFilter.

If you did the above and can see peers from gb actually transfering data then i'll know it's bug.

It works flawlessly for me :wink:

PostPosted: Sun Feb 05, 2006 12:24 pm
by BasicTek
SlyckNick wrote:Ya know, there are times when I feel proud to be a part of this community. And this is certainly one of them. :)


I agree the wonders of open source will never cease, and I'd like to say anyone trying this plugin can contribute by posting the results. Does this seriously slow dl/ul speeds, works great, etc.

@ukdnb, thanks for everything you've done so far. Just a couple of quick questions.

1) As others have asked for the option to block multiple countries, is that something you may be able to add to this later?

2) I was reading up on GeoIP and they claim to be able to identify anonymous proxies, satellite providers, as well as what country. Could the ablilty to block these be added as well? Not sure if they'll ever be needed but just in case. :wink:

PostPosted: Sun Feb 05, 2006 12:31 pm
by ukdnb
1) I will be adding the option for multiple countries. Might not get the time until next weekend tho.

2) anonymous proxies and satellite providers are already options in the list in settings.

PostPosted: Sun Feb 05, 2006 1:13 pm
by k0D
they connect and they where transfering to me ... probably is a small bug, but it happen, not only one, two peers, but more ...
some are blocked other arent, but its already a big step! thx for this excellent mod.!

PostPosted: Sun Feb 05, 2006 5:27 pm
by ukdnb
I've not seen this happen myself. Are you sure you set the download to "blocked" before it started? That's the only way I can see that peers might be able to escape being filtered.

Anyone else having this problem? I joined a swarm on a linux distro with 100's of peers most of whom were from the US, I set it to block US and left it running for a few hours and they all got banned...

I just changed the code so that when you set an already running download to blocked it will check the current peers and ban anyone from the country you have in settings. Hopefully that will fix the problem. Testing it now.

PostPosted: Mon Feb 06, 2006 4:44 am
by LaX
I'm not sure if it works. I didnt see anyone connect from my area but I couldnt be sure if it was the plugin or there just arent any that connects to my swarms.

PostPosted: Mon Feb 06, 2006 5:00 pm
by ukdnb
v0.4 is ready and is on BasicTek's site.

Features:

Ability to block multiple countries.
Changing the blocked countries causes current running downloads to be purged of the new blocked countries.
Blocked state is now saved between sessions.
Added a save button to the settings page, previously you had to close the window to apply the settings (closing the window still saves them).

Havn't tested this too much, so there might still be bugs :wink:

PostPosted: Mon Feb 06, 2006 7:08 pm
by Artie
This isn't something I talk about on here, but I've been part of the underground password cracking scene as far as website authentication is concerned. I've been in and out of the scene in the last couple years, but I still indulge every now and then (only adult authentication sites though).

Anyway, a few months ago, I was entertaining the thought of creating a PERL script which will actually identify if you're using a proxy or not, even if the proxy is completely anonymous (some in fact aren't), and Socks. It's actually my own concept. I could also program it in Java and HTA, but I'm a bit rusty at the moment in PERL and Java. Regardless, it's possible to do, even if the results aren't going to be 100% accurate, but close to it.

Re: the proxy-checking program alluded to above at http://www.maxmind.com/app/proxycheck , it seems they check open proxies based on certain port #s. My method is much different and more unique in nature. Port-checking is also time-consuming and some ISPs block certain outgoing non-standard ports anyway.

Maybe when I have more time I'll do it just for fun, although many people use proxies to hide from the **AA, so it might not be a wise idea to block proxies afterall, since I might in fact be doing a disservice. But I'm sure the **AA use proxies themselves. Despite all the hammering they get, they're not exactly complete dummies.

PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 11:13 am
by LaX
Hey, I'm not sure if this is a bug, but whenever I restart azureus, it always resets to "no" for blocking.

PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 12:11 pm
by ukdnb
hmm, open az_error.log in your azureus folder and see if it's showing any errors in there.

Also, after you shut down azureus open C:\Documents and Settings\<your name>\Application Data\Azureus\azureus.config in notepad and search it for "CountryLocator_block_downloads" you should see something like:
"Plugin.CountryLocator.CountryLocator_block_downloads72:filename1:filename2...".
If not then it's not saving it for some reason...

PostPosted: Fri Mar 24, 2006 3:37 am
by Kronzky
Great extension! Thanks so much for putting that together - it may save some people's necks after all!...

I noticed though that the country database might be a bit out of date - I occasionally got unknown (N/A) countries for IPs that are officially defined.

So, if the author or any user of this extension would like to update the country database (which does change occasionally), here's a link to get the definitions from: http://www.maxmind.com/download/geoip/database/
Download the file GeoIP.dat.gz, extract GeoIP.dat, and then overwrite the old one in your azureus\plugins\CountryLocator\ folder (make sure Azureus is not running).

proxy servers

PostPosted: Tue May 16, 2006 2:16 pm
by larytet
Artie wrote:Anyway, a few months ago, I was entertaining the thought of creating a PERL script which will actually identify if you're using a proxy or not, even if the proxy is completely anonymous (some in fact aren't), and Socks. It's actually my own concept. I could also program it in Java and HTA, but I'm a bit rusty at the moment in PERL and Java. Regardless, it's possible to do, even if the results aren't going to be 100% accurate, but close to it.


i develop data transfer application (Rodi) and proxy software (goMyPlace.com) and i am very interested how one can figure out that a host is behind Proxy

i see only two ways
- try to connect back using typical Proxy ports like 8080
- send short packets and measure round trip delay. if the result is above let's say 2s this is probably proxy

both approaches are unreliable. the first one thiugh will tend to let more users to connect - some use Proxys runnign on port 80. the second approach will cut users behind dial up connections.

also interesting how to find out that HTTP server is behind a reverse proxy.

please PM me, if you have cool idea and i would probably implement it.

PostPosted: Sat Jul 08, 2006 10:52 am
by mcorleone
looks like i'm joining the party a bit late, but glad to be here nonetheless. i found this thread via a google search as i was looking for a way to do exactly this. didn't think i'd actually find one though. :D

i downloaded and installed the v0.4 plug and updated the geoip DB as per Kronzky's post. all is working very well. I have chosen to block both US and GB, just to be on the safe side.

i've currently got three torrents going that are not seeded too well and have a decent number of peers. my speeds are between 25-115 kB/s per torrent. no stars and stripes or union jacks showing up. considering the value of this plugin, these speeds are very acceptable to me. thank you for your effort!

PostPosted: Mon Nov 20, 2006 10:41 am
by king2
thanks using it , i remeber this plugin but it took me while before i found it :-)

Re: Blocking uploads to specific countries

PostPosted: Tue Dec 25, 2007 2:55 am
by JaLooooNz
Anyone knows where can I get a updated plugin that works for the newer Azureus versions? Or anyone can update it? :?: