Slyck.com

Slyck Chatbox - And More

Rendezvous: University LAN IM and File-Sharing?

A place for developers and programmers of file-sharing software to discuss issues.
Forum rules
PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING: Slyck Forum Rules

Rendezvous: University LAN IM and File-Sharing?

Postby Widdle » Fri Aug 19, 2005 1:42 pm

Although I am not a programmer, I am curious as to a possibility.

I recently found out that because of bandwidth costs, my college has restricted internet bandwidth to 1.5GB up and down combined per week. This makes pretty much all P2P unusable. There is a silver lining to this, however, LAN traffic is not capped or monitored since the rationale for other bandwidth limits is cost, this is unneccessary.

My question pertains to a protocol called Rendezvous that was created and open-sourced by Apple. This protocol creates networks over LAN's. Would it be possible to use this as a type of P2P? Trillian already incorporates this feature into it's PRO version IM client, but it is for pay. It does allow for file transferring, but not for file sharing. Is this a feasible idea? Is there another protocol or implementation that would serve this purpose better?

Would it be better to build something like this as a plug-in inside Trillian, or as a standalone app?

Any thoughts or information you could provide would be much appreciated.

Thanks
Widdle

Postby jetiants-tk-user » Fri Aug 19, 2005 3:32 pm

first, there is a project to combine p2p and IM, search google for downhillbattle gaim plugin
but nothing released.

then your requst to protocols breaking through firewalls,

there is one protocol which can do this, this is the ants protocol

try it

antsp2p.sf.net

or here:
http://jeti.jabberstudio.org/webstart/j ... iants.jnlp

shoudl connect easily after a few miutes.
jetiants-tk-user

Postby AussieMatt » Fri Aug 19, 2005 3:48 pm

The Dowhill Battle project was being developed by