Page 1 of 1

Can I run Piolet on two LANned computers?

PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2005 4:59 am
by JROD
I've got one two Pc's that I want to run Piolet on, but can only Port Forward UDP 41170 to one of them...

I have a USR 8054 router. When I set it to open UDP ports 1-41350 for all internal IP's, Piolet won't connect; but when I forward it to one PC, it connects fine. I've tried playing with the router's firewall rules and port triggering, but nothing seems to help.

Can I really only run the program on one PC at a time? :?:

PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2005 7:54 am
by HouseCrowd
Try setting both installations of Piolet to TCP access only, and choose two different TCP ports, then forward the relevant port to each PC.

unsure...

PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2005 3:33 pm
by JROD
I'm not actualy sure how to set it for TCP...I thought it only uses UDP. I'm using ver. 1.05, and the only time it seems to work is when I open UDP 41170 on the router, and then I can only forward it to one internal IP address. If I allow more than one internal address to access 41170, it doesn't connect. Piolet installation doesn't seem able to compromise on the ports available...

PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2005 4:51 pm
by HouseCrowd
1.05 is now years old, you're far better using the beta version:

http://www.piolet.com/download/pub/_beta183_/


If you use version 1.83 (I'm not sure about 1.05), you should have connection options (under settings) which look like this:

Image

Just select TCP only, and a unique port for each machine.

Stupid, Stupid, Stupid!!!

PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2005 9:01 pm
by JROD
Thanks a lot for stating the obvious!!!
Either it's my eyes or my head!!!
This should make life much easier....
Thanks again!![/code]

PostPosted: Tue Jul 12, 2005 3:48 am
by HouseCrowd
No problem :)