Slyck.com

Slyck Chatbox - And More

Corrupt pieces causes Vuze to redownload indefinetly

Discussion about the BitTorrent Network and the Clients used to access it.
Forum rules
PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING: Slyck Forum Rules

Corrupt pieces causes Vuze to redownload indefinetly

Postby stalkingturkey1 » Sat Aug 08, 2009 3:21 pm

Hi, I recently encountered a problem while downloading a torrent on Vuze 4.2.0.4. I've been using Bittorrent for many years without a hitch and this is the first major problem I have had. It started when I discovered a new tracker at torrents.ru (a russian site) which had the specific files i wanted. I downloaded a few files from the tracker without a problem, however, one of these had a really annoying problem. After the file was seeding for a little while, Vuze displayed a message along the lines of "Piece XXXXXXX has been corrupted, re downloading." And so the completion would go back to 74% or something and it would re download. This was the first time i experienced this so i figured it was just a glitchy download, so i let it go. I don't touch my computer for a few days, and when i return, i notice that the torrent is still downloading. Apparently, the download bar showed that I downloaded over 24GB of data over the past few days for that torrent. The only problem was that the torrent was only 7.9GB. I watch the torrent as it "finishes" downloading, and right when it finishes, it goes right back to 74% again with the same error. Since then, I downloaded 2 other torrents, one of them went very smooth with no issues. However, the second one had almost the exact same symptoms, with the same pieces repeatedly re downloading themselves. This time however, the torrent was from Demonoid's tracker. My question is this: Is this just simply rotten luck, that I landed on two corrupt torrents in a short time span (never seen it before), or could this be an error with the Vuze itself. I'm using Windows XP SP2, 32bit.