Page 1 of 1

New Router - Can't Use WinMX Anymore!!

PostPosted: Mon Nov 08, 2004 7:50 pm
by Deus_ex
I just bought a new D-Link router the other day, and I got it allset up, but now I can't search for anything. I know it has something to do with the ports, but I have no idea what to do with it. Any ideas??
Thanks.

PostPosted: Mon Nov 08, 2004 7:53 pm
by red duck
i heard this is a great site

hope this helps

PostPosted: Mon Nov 08, 2004 8:08 pm
by WitchHunterRobin
What have you tried exactly?
Have you forwarded the following ports:
Incoming TCP 6699
Outgoing UDP 6257
Have you tried a secondary connection?
What version of WinMX do you have? You might have to update your version.

PostPosted: Mon Nov 08, 2004 8:19 pm
by Unbiased_Opinion
To log in to your D-Link Router Configuration go to 192.168.0.1 and use the http://www.portforward.com website as Red suggested above.

PostPosted: Mon Nov 08, 2004 8:28 pm
by Deus_ex
What have you tried exactly?

I just tried forwarding the ports, but still no go.

Have you forwarded the following ports:
Incoming TCP 6699
Outgoing UDP 6257

Yes, but that didn't work.

Have you tried a secondary connection?

That did the trick, lol. So simple.... I just read about others with having problems with their routers and using WinMX.

What version of WinMX do you have? You might have to update your version.

Just got ver. 3.53 last month.
Great, Thanks a lot :D

and thanks for that site Red, and UO. Has lots of great info, for a n00b like me :D

PostPosted: Mon Nov 08, 2004 8:39 pm
by Unbiased_Opinion
No problem.

But just to let you know. If you get your proper ports forwarded you will be able to connect to alot more users and probably notice a decent speed increase.

When you are secondary, you are firewalled and can't connect to other secondaries. But whatever, works for you. :)