Slyck.com
 
Slyck Chatbox - And More

New Router - Can't Use WinMX Anymore!!

Discussion about the WinMX program/network
Forum rules
PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING: Slyck Forum Rules

New Router - Can't Use WinMX Anymore!!

Postby Deus_ex » Mon Nov 08, 2004 7:50 pm

I just bought a new D-Link router the other day, and I got it allset up, but now I can't search for anything. I know it has something to do with the ports, but I have no idea what to do with it. Any ideas??
Thanks.
Deus_ex
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2004 7:36 pm

Postby red duck » Mon Nov 08, 2004 7:53 pm

i heard this is a great site

hope this helps
there is new p2p site
...and it's growing.

The site is UP :)
User avatar
red duck
 
Posts: 4397
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2004 4:02 am
Location: lemme think......... oh i forgot NONE OF YOUR BUSINESS ! ! !

Postby WitchHunterRobin » Mon Nov 08, 2004 8:08 pm

What have you tried exactly?
Have you forwarded the following ports:
Incoming TCP 6699
Outgoing UDP 6257
Have you tried a secondary connection?
What version of WinMX do you have? You might have to update your version.
User avatar
WitchHunterRobin
 
Posts: 295
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 4:20 pm

Postby Unbiased_Opinion » Mon Nov 08, 2004 8:19 pm

To log in to your D-Link Router Configuration go to 192.168.0.1 and use the http://www.portforward.com website as Red suggested above.
User avatar
Unbiased_Opinion
 
Posts: 5469
Joined: Fri Jul 16, 2004 6:33 am
Location: US

Postby Deus_ex » Mon Nov 08, 2004 8:28 pm

What have you tried exactly?

I just tried forwarding the ports, but still no go.

Have you forwarded the following ports:
Incoming TCP 6699
Outgoing UDP 6257

Yes, but that didn't work.

Have you tried a secondary connection?

That did the trick, lol. So simple.... I just read about others with having problems with their routers and using WinMX.

What version of WinMX do you have? You might have to update your version.

Just got ver. 3.53 last month.
Great, Thanks a lot :D

and thanks for that site Red, and UO. Has lots of great info, for a n00b like me :D
Deus_ex
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2004 7:36 pm

Postby Unbiased_Opinion » Mon Nov 08, 2004 8:39 pm

No problem.

But just to let you know. If you get your proper ports forwarded you will be able to connect to alot more users and probably notice a decent speed increase.

When you are secondary, you are firewalled and can't connect to other secondaries. But whatever, works for you. :)
User avatar
Unbiased_Opinion
 
Posts: 5469
Joined: Fri Jul 16, 2004 6:33 am
Location: US


Return to WinMX

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

© 2001-2008 Slyck.com