Page 1 of 1

Soulseek NS

PostPosted: Mon Feb 09, 2009 4:50 pm
by jb
Anyone have problems using Soulseek v 157 NS 13c? Things like run time errors, multiple restarts to begin downloading and other minor but frequent problems? OK, I know Soulseek is presoric, so no heavy bashing is necessary.

Re: Soulseek NS

PostPosted: Mon Feb 09, 2009 8:51 pm
by ZeroZero
I've had no problems with it today.

Re: Soulseek NS

PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2009 1:01 am
by bmh67wa
Working OK here.

Re: Soulseek NS

PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2009 11:44 am
by jb
Thanks for the response. Looks like it is my issue, not Soulseek.

Re: Soulseek NS

PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2009 11:58 am
by MrFredPFL
at the risk of asking annoyingly obvious questions, have you tried uninstalling it and the reinstalling? also, does it require any external support, like .net framework or java?

Re: Soulseek NS

PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2009 12:14 pm
by jb
Nothing is too obvious for me. I did reinstall it, no change. I know nothing of external support, I never completed geek school. I do have an XP and a Vista machine, both have similar problems. I'll just have to live with it. The problems can be annoying, but after a few restarts it usually works fine.

Re: Soulseek NS

PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2009 12:18 pm
by MrFredPFL
wow, strange. very interesting that it has the same probs on two diff machines, and yet no one else has these issues.

as for the external support thing, i was just clutching at straws there. if it used anything like java or .net, it would tell you about it in the installation instructions, as it would be unusable without them. my thought was that possibly the program itself was fine, but there was a problem in the external support.

Re: Soulseek NS

PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2009 12:29 pm
by jb
I thought it strange too. Actually never tried the new Soulseek on the XP machine, thought the upgrade on Vista would help. Could my internet connection have anything to do with it? Using AT&T adsl, uverse IPTV.

Re: Soulseek NS

PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2009 12:43 pm
by MrFredPFL
it's possible. i was thinking about something external to the two boxes, but still shared by them - your connection, a router maybe. i am still clutching at straws and making wild guesses here. but i'll say this - any external issue like that which causes runtime errors would have to indicate really sloppy coding. i'd sooner suspect some other program which is also installed on both boxes which somehow conflicts with soulseek.

Re: Soulseek NS

PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2009 1:38 pm
by jb
Well, I do have a few of the same programs on each. It is not worth the time to delete and test for each of them. I now use Soulseek infrequently anyway.

Re: Soulseek NS

PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2009 1:49 pm
by sunnyd
I was aware of someone else that had an issue with Soulseek, and after several attempts at a resolution I suggested he try to have Soulseek use another port (he was using a router) rather than the same port some other programs he had were using, and strangely enough, for this person, it seemed to have solved the problem. He opened a different port for Soulseek only and had no further issues. Not sure if this will be a solution for you, but thought I would mention it. I myself have never used Soulseek.