Page 1 of 1

Banned from Slyck

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2006 9:12 am
by Parisno
Hi there
Don't know if this is the correct forum, but it seems to be the closest.

My home PC seems to be banned from here, no idea why as I have only visited occasionally over the last few years, this is my first post and I only registered today. I can not have broken any rules or offended anybody.

Please someone help me out with this

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2006 9:48 am
by Mrs. 2p
hmmhmm.. weird... I'll make sure the admins see this. The best way to do so, though, is to put it in the "tell us what you think section"

*moved*

welcome to slyck! :D

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2006 11:48 am
by SlyckTom
What do you mean you're banned? From the forums? The site?

I ask because I'm wondering how you're posting. Did you create a new forum name?

Re: Banned from Slyck

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2006 12:06 pm
by Mrs. 2p
Parisno wrote:My home PC seems to be banned from here


I suspect the IP on his home PC may have been banned at one point or another. Difficult to know, though, because without posts from that PC, the IP can't be checked :?

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2006 6:14 pm
by HouseCrowd
Hmmmm .... another one :?

Hi Parisno,

Could you please PM me with the IP (verified with something like http://www.whatismyip.com ) and the username you are trying to log in with when at home (and the error message you're getting). I'll look into it for you.

Cheers

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2006 6:19 pm
by zim
he said he only just registered...

so its not an account ban.

ip ban. and he either needs to stay banned. or he just got someones banned dynamic ip..

bad luck

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2006 9:12 pm
by zbeast
Open a dos window and type
ipconfi /renew
You'll get a new IP.

Song:
Banded from slick everyone,
banded from Slick for having a little fun.
sorry for the post but I was having a little fun.
he was banded from slick everyone.

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2006 9:29 pm
by DepecheNode
err...

that's:

    ipconfig /release
    then
    ipconfig /renew

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2006 10:04 pm
by BasicTek
zbeast wrote:Open a dos window and type
ipconfi /renew
You'll get a new IP.


DepecheNode wrote:err...

that's:

    ipconfig /release
    then
    ipconfig /renew


Typically the DHCP release/renew does not work all the time. The main reason for this is the DHCP protocol remembers the last IP and requests it when you do the renew.

If that IP is available you get it back. Will it be available, that depends on your DHCP server's lease time and how many available IP adresses it has. Most ISP's are supposed to have short lease times to improve performance of the DHCP server. But what is short? My current ISP has a lease time of 24 hours.

You can find out your ISP lease time by doing an ipconfig /all and looking at the lease obtained/expires info.

I did a few tests since this was brought up on another thread.

Test 1) I released my IP and then renewed it. Still got the same IP. :(

Test 2) I released my IP, changed my IP to a different static IP, and renewed. I still got the original IP back. No good. :(

Test 3) I released my IP, changed my IP to static and changed it 2 more times, then I changed my MAC address, switched back to DHCP and got a new address. :D


Depending on ISP/DHCP servers, the effort required to change IP's may vary. But in most cases should be achievable.

PostPosted: Thu Jan 12, 2006 1:08 am
by zim
/release and reset your modem gives me a new one..


on cable anyways.

PostPosted: Thu Jan 12, 2006 5:05 am
by Parisno
Hi everyone, back on the works PC!!

Few points in reply to the above.

It is an IP ban as I can not get past a page that says you are banned, no chance to log in or do anything really.

My IP is DHCP but will not change with release/renew or by turning cable modem off overnight (I will turn it off for longer next time I have the chance)

Thanks for all the sugestions but looks like I will either have to get my IP un-banned or get it changed,
till then ta ta
:cry: :cry:

PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2006 5:04 am
by Parisno
Thanks to HouseCrowd I can now acces the site, thanks HC :P :lol: :D

PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2006 6:04 am
by LaX
Great to have to here Parisno :D

PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2006 2:15 pm
by raar
Welcome, welcome!