Page 1 of 1

Slyck Website Icon Needed

PostPosted: Fri Jul 08, 2005 12:22 pm
by Resslx
Slyck needs a website icon!
It would appear in the navigation bar, under the bookmarks tab, and in users link bars.
Slyck doesn't currently have a logo, but a small slyck or anything would do.
I've highlighted this in the screenshot below:

Image

I love this site, but it's crowding my link space :P

PostPosted: Fri Jul 08, 2005 12:24 pm
by LxBeast
Welcome to Slyck :mrgreen:

I've been thinking the same for quite a while, but I can't picture what the icon would look like.

Maybe if everybody puts their heads together, we could come up with something?

PostPosted: Fri Jul 08, 2005 12:25 pm
by Assyrian
I understand what you mean, and i really think it's a good idea. i've got slyck saved in my bookmarks/favourates with other websites, it's the only loner with no icon.

:?

edit: And welcome to slyck, great to have you here :)

PostPosted: Fri Jul 08, 2005 12:29 pm
by Allied
You can modify the icon in your favorites folder to have a custom icon. ,
Image
It looks like crap in that view. But since favorites is my home page I usually see it like this,
Image
Right click the icon, Properties>Change Icon> select a pic

PostPosted: Fri Jul 08, 2005 12:30 pm
by LxBeast
What are the px dimensions needed? <width, height>

PostPosted: Fri Jul 08, 2005 12:33 pm
by Assyrian
Right click the icon, Properties>Change Icon> select a pic


for firefox?

PostPosted: Fri Jul 08, 2005 12:38 pm
by Psycho Ced
OK guys break out the PhotoShop!

PostPosted: Fri Jul 08, 2005 12:39 pm
by Vincent
Image
I believe a simple S would do nicely in this instance.

PostPosted: Fri Jul 08, 2005 12:40 pm
by Assyrian
^^ LOL

PostPosted: Fri Jul 08, 2005 12:40 pm
by Psycho Ced
LOL ... PS at work eh?

PostPosted: Fri Jul 08, 2005 12:41 pm
by LxBeast
Yep, as Vincent said.

A simple S.

PostPosted: Fri Jul 08, 2005 12:43 pm
by Vincent
I was actually serious. It works well for Google, so why not Slyck?

PostPosted: Fri Jul 08, 2005 12:45 pm
by Assyrian
you know, i was just going through my favourates and i saw that slyck was using googles icon.. dont know how it got there, how do you change it using firefox?

PostPosted: Fri Jul 08, 2005 12:45 pm
by LxBeast
@ V - I think Assyrian meant to lol @ PC. You beat him to the post though. :wink:

@ Assyrian, same here. :? :lol:

PostPosted: Fri Jul 08, 2005 12:49 pm
by Assyrian
sorry the lol was to PC.
and yeh LxB, if you figure out how to change it let me know :?

PostPosted: Fri Jul 08, 2005 1:03 pm
by SlyckTom
Yeah, I was also thinking about a firefox search plug in also...anyone? :-D

PostPosted: Fri Jul 08, 2005 1:26 pm
by SlyckRay
thanx, a simple s it is...

PostPosted: Fri Jul 08, 2005 1:38 pm
by Allied
Image Image
?
I don't use FireFox. But in SlimBrowser, you can create a Slyck search,

[General]
url=http://www.slyck.com/search.php?lookup=$key
method=post

Copy that into Notepad and save it as "Slyck.qseg" in \SlimBrowser\QuickSearch\
And Slyck will appear in the search drop down menu.

PostPosted: Fri Jul 08, 2005 1:41 pm
by LxBeast
Allied wrote:Image Image
?


:lol: - Great minds think alike eh? :P

Shall try the drop down box tip.

PostPosted: Fri Jul 08, 2005 1:43 pm
by Ooble
Love the new icon.

SlyckTom wrote:Yeah, I was also thinking about a firefox search plug in also...anyone? :-D

Sounds like a plan. Enjoy yourself. :P

PostPosted: Fri Jul 08, 2005 1:59 pm
by HouseCrowd
Great idea!


Welcome Resslx! :)

PostPosted: Sun Jul 10, 2005 10:24 pm
by Assyrian
haha got the icon, thank you boys :D

PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2005 9:52 am
by rsrikanth05
Assyrian wrote:you know, i was just going through my favourates and i saw that slyck was using googles icon.. dont know how it got there, how do you change it using firefox?

Umm I get the Yahoo! "Y!" Logo in Opera axshully I get it for most of my pages. perhaps because it is my homepage.Well hoo knows what the creators do.

PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2005 9:53 am
by Assyrian
rsrikanth05 wrote:
Assyrian wrote:you know, i was just going through my favourates and i saw that slyck was using googles icon.. dont know how it got there, how do you change it using firefox?

Umm I get the Yahoo! "Y!" Logo in Opera axshully I get it for most of my pages. perhaps because it is my homepage.Well hoo knows what the creators do.


i think i found out the problem for that, it saved under the search engines logo because you entered the site through the search engine ....

yes, no ?