Slyck.com

Slyck Chatbox - And More

Fserves, DCC window, and downloading

Discussion of current popular networks, clients and methods of IRC
Forum rules
PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING: Slyck Forum Rules

Fserves, DCC window, and downloading

Postby Subnet Fiend » Tue Feb 26, 2008 1:04 am

Hi I'm just slightly fserve challenged right now, I did read the guide but I don't think what I need was in there. So I know that most fserves give you that DCC window right, and it goes idle in 30 seconds after you cease activity for awhile. I don't get it though if that's the case does the download you qued still continue? And lets say you want to check out exactly what it is you qued where do you enter the command, in the DCC window, or the fserve chat window, and typically what is the command for your qued files?
Subnet Fiend

Re: Fserves, DCC window, and downloading

Postby Psycho Ced » Tue Feb 26, 2008 1:26 am

I'm kind of new to IRC myself but I'll try.
You have stay logged onto the server (and I think the channel - I've never actually checked) for the downloads to complete but you can close the connection by typing exit (unless they have another command which would be stated when you make the connection). Edit: got confused there. If you don't type exit you could get banned. You don't need to leave that window open (the window for the client to which you were issuing the get commands) to keep the downloads in queue.

You can normally see what you have in queue if they set it to broadcast at certain intervals as well as when you position changes. “I’ve never actually been in a long queue where one of my requests was not currently downloading, so I’ve never bothered to find the queue command though. I use hydrairc so the response from the clients end up in their own window for easy reference.

edit: I'm tired - see tehdoomsayer answer - its a bit clearer
Last edited by Psycho Ced on Tue Feb 26, 2008 3:33 am, edited 3 times in total.
Psycho Ced
Psycho+